The Canadian Cycling Federation announced its roster of 20 riders (Junior, Under 23 and Elite), with whom they will compete at the 2022 UCI Road World Championships in Wollongong, Australia, from September 18-25.

Canada is fielding a strong Women’s squad including U23 athletes Simone Boilard and Magdeleine Vallières-Mill, as well as Olivia Baril, Alison Jackson, and Leah Kirchmann. For Kirchmann, this will be an opportunity to wear the Canadian jersey one last time at the World Championships, after she announced her retirement last month. Kirchmann and Jackson will represent Canada in the Individual Time trial.

“I’m really looking forward to racing at the World Championships in Australia this year with a solid Canadian team,” said Kirchmann. “My goal is to target a strong personal performance in the Time Trial and want to ride to help achieve the best possible result for Canada in the road race. I think we have a lot of strong cards to play, and a good mix of experienced, and up and coming talented riders to compete against the best in the world. Since it will be my last worlds, I want to also fully appreciate the time I get to spend with the team, and will be sure to soak up the atmosphere of racing such a significant event in a beautiful location.

Canada will be represented in the men’s race by Canadian National Champion Pier-André Côté, along with Nickolas Zukowsky, Derek Gee and Matteo Dal-Cin. Gee and Dal-Cin will also suit up for the Time Trial.

“We are very excited for this year’s Road World Championships in Wollongong, Australia as we are sending our largest team since 2019,” said National Team Coach Nigel Ellsay. “We are particularly excited to enter two U23 women to contest the first ever rainbow jersey for their category, and to participate for our first time in the mixed team time trial. We believe that Canadian athletes will be arriving in Wollongong with strong chances for success”

Cycling Canada has ramped up programming for Junior and U23 athletes over the past year, and with a continuing focus on youth development will be sending a large contingent of riders in these categories to race in Australia. Carson Miles, Tristan Jussaume and Nicolas Rivard will race in the U23 Road Race, with Miles and Jussaume also contesting the Individual Time Trial. Eight athletes will represent Canada in the Junior category including Campbell Parish, Kiara Lylyk and Penelope Primeau who recently also represented Canada at the Junior World Track Championships in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Racing can be streamed live on FloBikes here, starting with the Elite women’s and men’s Time Trials on Sunday, September 18.

Elite Women

Olivia Baril (Road Race) – Rouyn-Noranda, QC

Simone Boilard (Road Race) – Quebec City, QC

Alison Jackson (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Vermilion, AB

Leah Kirchmann (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Winnipeg, MB

Magdeleine Vallières-Mill (Road Race) – Sherbrooke, QC

Elite Men

Pier-André Côté (Road Race) – Saint-Henri de Lévis, QC

Matteo Dal-Cin (Inidividual Time Trial, Road Race) – Ottawa, ON

Derek Gee (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Osgoode, ON

Nickolas Zukowsky (Road Race) – Ste-Lucie-des-Laurentides, QC

Junior Women

Éloïse Camiré (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – St-Jérôme, QC

Kiara Lylyk (Road Race) – Guelph, ON

Penelope Primeau (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Rosemère, QC

Anabelle Thomas (Road Race) – Calgary, AB

Junior Men

Jerome Gauthier (Road Race) – Amos, Quebec

Felix Hamel (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Sainte-Julie, QC

Michael Leonard (Road Race) – Oakville, ON

Campbell Parrish (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Vancouver, BC

U23 Men

Carson Miles (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Ottawa, ON

Tristan Jussaume (Individual Time Trial, Road Race) – Contrecoeur, QC

Nicolas Rivard (Road Race) – Bois-Des-Filion, QC