The 7C Economy Lacoinex team was forceful in the team time trial of the Tour of Costa Rica, held this Monday between Bagaces, Liberia and Curubandé over 41.2 kilometers, stopping the timer at 52 minutes and 19 seconds, which ratified the leadership of Donovan Ramírez.

The current national champion of the specialty spared no effort to impose time on his opponents, beating the Colono Bikestation Kölbi by 1 minute and 10 seconds and the Movistar Best PC of Ecuador by 2 minutes and 48 seconds.

Aside from the general dispute, Coffee Experts-Repuestos Mena-Volcano achieved an outstanding performance with the fourth place on the day, and in the process became the third best local team against the stopwatch with a figure of 55’27”.

The Guatemalan National Team was one of the injured squads of the fraction by giving up 4 minutes and 22 seconds, a difference that placed Gerson Toc in 14th place in the overall individual classification as its best representative at 5’21”.

A similar situation suffered the members of the Universe Cycling Team (Netherlands) and the CMS Prefabricados San Carlos with the relegation of Tom Wijfje and Luis Murillo in the top 10.

As for the general classification, the locals continue to dominate the first three positions. Donovan Ramírez (7C-Economy Lacoinex) remained in command, leading his teammate Gabriel Rojas by 40 seconds and Sergio Arias (Team Colono Bikestation Kölbi) by 1:50.

The best foreigner is the Ecuadorian Santiago Montenegro (Movistar Best PC) in 5th place, while the Colombian Juan Diego Alba (Movistar Best PC) kept the 17th place.

This Tuesday the fourth stage of the Tour of Costa Rica will be held, it will be the longest day of the fifty-seventh edition with a 172.2 kilometer stretch between Liberia, Cañas, Esparza, San Ramón, Palmares and Naranjo.

Stage classification

     7C Economy Lacoinex 52’19”

     Colono Bikestation Kölbi 53’29”

     Movistar Best PC 55’07”

     Coffee Experts-Mena-Volcano 55’27” spare parts

     Team Costa Frut Go Rigo Go Giant 55’40”

     Real Estelí 56’10”

     Stichting Universe Cycling Team 56’27”

     Team CMS-Prefabricados San Carlos 56’32

     Guatemala National Team 56’41”

     Distributor Cruz-Tecnoforest-Atomica-Trama 57’46”

     Ezio Rice – Dr. Orozco – Cable One – BCT 58’42”

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico y