This Thursday the Vuelta Internacional Juvenil y Prejuvenil CR 2022 started in the canton of Pérez Zeledón, with a stage that was disputed from the Municipality of said canton and ended in Peñas Blancas, where Héctor Menéndez, Alexandra Vargas, José Pablo Sancho and Isabel García obtained the triumph.

The Youth Men’s category traveled 92 kilometers with two flying goals and a third category mountain award; the Junior Men’s as well as the Junior Women’s traveled 61 kilometers starting from La Esperanza Super and finally the Junior Women’s traveled 33 kilometers leaving the M.V.

The catracho Héctor Menéndez (Honduran National Team) won the stage in the men’s youth after beating his fellow escapees Eduardo Hernández (Esparza Training-Chicote Valdez) and Ernesto Fernández (Campos-Zebol-ACCIPAL), second and third respectively. . José Pablo Murrillo (Greek Cycling Association) commands the mountain classification and Joseph Hidalgo (PZ Cycling Team) the flying goals.

For its part, the female youth category is commanded by the host Alexandra Vargas (Team Go Rigo Go), who beat Marisol García (Colono Construcción-Bike Station) in the sprint; third place went to Fiorella Zamora (Greek Cycling Association). Amanda Gómez and Sofía Gómez (Global Force Team ARJF) lead the classification of flying and mountain goals respectively.

The Pérez Zeledón club dominated in the Junior Men’s category after winning the stage with José Pablo Sancho (PZ Cycling Team), ahead of Jonathan Aguilar (CCDR Cartago A), fellow breakaway. Adriano González (Colonist Construction-Bikestation) finished third. Sebastián Castro and Brandon Fallas (PZ Cycling Team) lead the mountain classification and flying goals respectively.

Finally, Isabel García (Colono Construcción-Bike Station) won the initial stage and also the leadership in the flying goals of the Junior Women’s category, the second place went to Denise Rahilly (Team Puro MTB-Bianchi) and the third to Yailin Gómez (CCDR Carthage). Rahilly commands the classification of the mountain.

Tomorrow, August 19, the second stage will take place, an individual time trial from the Ingenio Coopeagri to the Miraflores School. More than 230 male and female runners participate in this event.