Validating the forecasts that catalogued him as one of the great candidates to the victory of the 18-kilometer time trial, the Uruguayan champion of individual time trial Agustín Alonso, of the Boca del Cufré Club, won stage 7 of the Tour of Uruguay.

The Uruguayan rider used a time of 22 minutes 54 seconds to win the time trial, beating by 7 seconds his compatriots Federico Moreira (Club Ciclista Cerro Largo) and Roderyck Asconeguy (Audax de Flores), who came in 16 seconds behind and took over the lead of the race after Brazilian Kleber Silva dropped out.

Alonso will defend his lead in the next day’s 125.2 kilometers, between the towns of Paysandú and Mercedes, which had to be rescheduled due to a stomach infection that affected several riders of some teams and forced to run the time trial at noon and not in the morning as planned.

The South American race will end on Sunday, March 31 in Montevideo, when the successor to Argentine Jorge Giacinti, winner of the last edition in 2023, will be announced.

First held in 1939 and considered the oldest stage race in the Americas, the Vuelta Ciclista was won in its last edition by Argentine Jorge Giacinti, from the Club Ciclista Cerro Largo of Uruguay.

Throughout history, the cyclist who has won the race the most times is the Uruguayan Federico Moreira, who won the editions of 1986, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1997 and 1999. Now, the return to action of the current edition of the Vuelta Ciclista del Uruguay is awaited.

Tour of Uruguay 2024
Results Stage 7 | El Trebol -> El Trebol (18 km)

1Agustín AlonsoClub Boca del Cufré22:54
2Federico MoreiraClub Ciclista Cerro Largo0:07
3Roderyck Asconeguy Audax de Flores0:16
4Sebastián TrilliniCNP Bocas del Cufré0:33
5Ignacio MaldonadoSan Antonio de Florida0:52
6Gabriel Souza SilvaC.S.Progreso Canelones0:57
7Alejandro QuilciClub Ciclista Cerro Largo0:59
8Alan Matías PresaClub Ciclista Cerro Largo1:08
9Anderson MaldonadoCCS Barrio Artigas de 331:11
10Giovanny UmpierrezCCS Barrio Artigas de 331:22

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico