On Sunday, it was known that the new champion of the National Road Race 2024 is Alejandro Osorio (GW Shimano), who made a time of 4h53’36”, making it clear that he is the best rider in the country today.

It is necessary to say that with approximately five kilometers to go to finish this long-distance race, the GW rider decided to hold on and then attacked until passing other riders who came in the breakaway as Egan Bernal or Sergio Higuita.

Thus, and after a circuit run in the city of Tunja, capital of Boyacá, it was confirmed that the podium was formed by Sergio Higuita (Bora) in second place and Egan Bernal (INEOS) in third.

It is the first time in the career of the ‘Pony’ that he manages to take the gold in a National Road Race, taking into account that he was accompanied by several of his teammates, including his brother.

This cyclist born in Carmén de Viboral made clear why he is in the privileged list of athletes in projection and now he will proudly wear the jersey of national champion of the country.

At the end of the race, the winner expressed his satisfaction for the victory. “I thank my brother. Super proud, super happy this is a dream. It’s incredible to be national champion,” said Osorio, who has a past with Bahrain-Victorious.

In the closing stages, Bernardo Suaza (Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli) tried to surprise his breakaway companions, but Alejandro Osorio (GW Erco Shimano) pushed the pace, further selecting the leading group. Behind, Egan Bernal and Sergio Higuita overtook the rest of the breakaway.

For their part, the World Tour riders also managed to make an important race, but in the end, none of them were able to do it.

The winners of the last editions of the elite men’s road race of the Colombian Nationals have been, since 2018, Sergio Luis Henao, Óscar Quiroz (2019), Sergio Higuita (2020 and 2022), Aristóbulo Cala (2021), Esteban Chaves (2023), and now, in 2024, an Alejandro Osorio who writes his name in the most memorable pages of Colombian cycling.

Source: Antena2 y Revista Mundo Ciclístico