This Sunday, June 16, the second stage of the Vuelta a Colombia 2024 took place, which had a distance of 139.3 kilometers between Paipa and Tocancipá, and left as winner Alejandro Osorio (GW Erco Shimano), who took revenge for what happened the day before.

n the paper it was an ideal stage for the packers, however, the passage through the Alto del Sisga left no options for the pure sprinters. Also, along the way there were several skirmishes, in a day that was rained and very cold.

In the end, Alejandro Osorio was smart, and took advantage of his characteristics of a fast man to accelerate in the last meters, preventing them from snatching the stage, winning his first fraction in this edition.

The day, which began in Paipa, had several skirmishes, and although it was on flat terrain, the breakaways did not achieve large differences, also the weather conditions prevented the riders to risk more.

As for the overall individual classification, there were no major changes and Rodrigo Contreras (Nu Colombia) remained in command, escorted by Diego Camargo (Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli) and Adrian Bustamante (GW Erco Shimano), who was closer, thanks to the time bonuses obtained at the finish line.

Colombia’s round will continue this Monday with the fourth stage in line, a demanding 168-kilometer stage starting on the outskirts of Bogota and finishing in Mariquita, in the department of Tolima.

Vuelta a Colombia (2.2)
Results Stage 2 | Paipa – Tocancipá (139,3 km)

1Alejandro OsorioGW Erco Shimano3:16:47
2Adrián BustamanteGW Erco Shimano,,
3Jhonatan ChavesNu Colombia,,
4Rodrigo ContrerasNu Colombia,,
5Jonathan CaicedoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli,,
6 Juan Diego HoyosTeam Sistecrédito,,
7Víctor OcampoTeam Medellín-EPM,,
8Mateo SánchezOrgullo Paisa,,
9Cesar GuavitaColombia Potencia de la Vida,,
10Edgar CadenaForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli,,

Ranking General

1Rodrigo ContrerasNu Colombia7:34:19
2Diego CamargoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli0:42
3Adrián BustamanteGW Erco Shimano0:46
4Wilson PeñaTeam Sistecrédito0:48
5Javier JamaicaTeam Medellín-EPM1:01
6Yeison ReyesTeam Sistecrédito1:02
7Jonathan CaicedoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli1:08
8Yesid PiraAlcaldía de Manizales – 100% Huevos1:10
9Cristian RicoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli1:11
10Julián CardonaTeam Medellín-EPM1:20

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico