In a sprint finish, Alejandro Osorio won the fifth stage of the Vuelta a Colombia 2024, after his teammate Daniel Arroyave (GW Erco Shimano) was relegated by the judges. The 195.7-kilometer day was between Manizales and Buga.

The cyclist from Carmel, who achieved his third victory in the race, crossed the finish line first ahead of Juan Esteban Guerrero (Avinal-Alcaldía El Carmen de Viboral) and Johan Colón (Orgullo Paisa), who finished second and third.

In the early stages of the day the breakaway was led by Ecuadorian Jimmy Montenegro (Movistar Best PC), who was accompanied by Daniel Hoyos (Alcaldía de Manizales-100 Huevos), José Tobasia (Ebsa), Leison Maca (Inderhuila), but passing over the end they were neutralized by the large peloton.

The control in the main group was exercised by Orgullo Paisa, Avinal-Alcaldía El Carmen de Viboral and Nu Colombia, which, 30 km from the finish, began to set a strong and steady pace to exterminate the breakaway and take the decision of the stage to the packing, where Osorio was the strongest.

As for the general classification, Rodrigo Contreras (Nu Colombia) maintained the advantage with his rivals and commands the positions followed by Wilson Peña (Team Sistecrédito) at 44″ and Diego Camargo (Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli) at 48″.

This Thursday will be run the sixth stage of the Colombian round, a fraction of 173.3 kilometers between the municipalities of Buga and Apía, in the department of Risaralda.

Tour of Colombia (2.2)
Results Stage 5 | Manizales – Buga (195,6 km)

1 Alejandro OsorioGW Erco Shimano4:17:14
2Juan Esteban Osoriovinal – Alcaldía El Carmen de Viboral,,
3Johan ColónOrgullo Paisa,,
4Juan Diego HoyosTeam Sistecrédito,,
5Carlos QuinteroAvinal – Alcaldía El Carmen de Viboral,,
6Yesid PiraAlcaldía de Manizales – 100% Huevos,,
7Brayan SánchezTeam Medellín-EPM,,
8Diego OchoaTeam Saitel,,
9Carlos GutiérrezTeam Orígenes Coffee,,
10Oscar QuirozNu Colombia,,

Ranking General

1Rodrigo ContrerasNu Colombia19:40:13
2Wilson PeñaTeam Sistecrédito0:45
3Diego CamargoPetrolike0:49
4Julián CardonaTeam Medellín-EPM1:21
5Adrián BustamanteGW Erco Shimano1:28
6Javier JamaicaTeam Medellín-EPM1:31
7Robinson LópezGW Erco Shimano2:09
8Cristian RicoPetrolike3:09
9Kevin CastilloTeam Sistecredito3:20
10Cesar GuavitaColombia Potencia de la Vida3:34

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico