World champion Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) retained the crown and became Giro Donne champion for the fourth time, after defending the lead in the ninth and final stage of the 34th edition of the Italian round for women.

“It is always special to win a general classification, because the work belongs to the whole team. Last year we put on a good party and this year I hope we repeat it,” Van Vleuten said in statements collected by the telephone squad.

Van Vleuten, who donned the leader’s pink jersey from the second stage, was accompanied on the podium by the French Juliette Labous (DSM-Firmenich) and the Italian Gaia Realini (Lidl-Trek), second and third respectively. The Colombian Paula Patiño (Movistar) finished in 18th place.

The last day played this Sunday between the Italian towns of Sassari and Olbia with a route of 126.5 kilometers was in the hands of the Italian Chiara Consonni (UAE-Adq) ahead of the Dutch Marianne Vos (Jumbo-Visma) and the New Zealander Ally Wollaston (AG Insurance-Soudal).

Giro d’Italia Donne 2023 (2.WWT)

Results stage 9 | Sassari – Olbia (126.8 km)

1 Chiara Consonni UAE Team ADQ 3:19:33

2 Marianne Vos Team Jumbo-Visma ,,

3 Ally Wollaston AG Insurance – Soudal Quick-Step ,,

4 Chloe Dygert Canyon//SRAM Racing ,,

5 Megan Jastrab Team dsm-firmenich ,,

6 Rachele Barbieri Liv Racing TeqFind ,,

7 Susanne Andersen Uno-X Pro Cycling Team ,,

8 Letizia Paternoster Team Jayco AlUla ,,

9 Gladys Verhulst FDJ – SUEZ ,,

48 Paula Patino Movistar Team ,,

Final General Classification

1 Annemiek van Vleuten Movistar Team 24:26:25

2 Juliette Labous Team dsm-firmenich 3:56

3 Gaia Realini Lidl – Trek 4:23

4 Veronica Ewers EF Education-TIBCO-SVB 5:34

5 Erica Magnaldi UAE Team ADQ ,,

6 Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig FDJ – SUEZ 6:16

7 Mavi Garcia Liv Racing TeqFind 6:25

8 Silvia Persico UAE Team ADQ 6:59

9 Niamh Fisher-Black Team SD Worx 7:28

18 Paula Patino Movistar Team 20:01