In a sprint finish, Bryan Coquard won the first online stage of the Tour de Suisse 2024. The Frenchman beat Australian Michael Matthews (Team Jayco AlUla) and Belgian Arnaud De Lie (Lotto Dstny) in the bunch, after 177.3 kilometers between Vaduz and Regensdorf with 2,400 meters of elevation gain.

In the general classification, Yves Lampaert (Soudal Quick-Step) kept the leader’s yellow jersey. The Belgian is escorted by the British Ethan Hayter (INEOS Grenadiers) and the Portuguese João Almeida (UAE Team Emirates).

The breakaway of the day was led by the Panamanian Roberto Carlos González (Team Corratec-Vini Fantini), who was accompanied by the Belgian Gerben Kuypers (Intermarché – Wanty) and the Swiss Antoine Debons (Team Corratec-Vini Fantini), Luca Jenni (Swiss National Team) and Félix Stehli (Swiss National Team), but all were caught by the peloton.

In the end, it all came down to a reduced sprint, in which Coquard, 32, won his 52nd victory in his professional career, but it is only the second time he has triumphed at WorldTour level, the first being last year’s Tour Down Under.

As for the Colombians, the best was Brandon Rivera (Ineos Grenadiers) in 4th place, followed by his countryman Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) in 39th place, then came Sergio Higuita (Bora – Hansgrohe) 41st and Einer Rubio (Movistar Team) 57th, all with the same time as the winner, while Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) entered in 102nd place more than two minutes behind Coquard.

The Swiss race will continue on Tuesday with the third stage, a 161.7-kilometer section between Steinmaur and Rüschlikon that includes three third-category mountain passes in the final part.

Tour de Suiza (2.UWT) Results Stage 2 | Vaduz – Regensdorf (177,3 km)

1Bryan CoquardCofidis4:06:39
2Michael MatthewsTeam Jayco AlUla,,
3Arnaud De LieLotto Dstny,,
4Brandon RiveraINEOS Grenadiers,,
5Rui CostaEF Education – EasyPost,,
6Axel LaurenceAlpecin – Deceuninck,,
7Thomas PidcockINEOS Grenadiers,,
8Roger AdriaBORA – hansgrohe,,
9Francesco BusattoIntermarché – Wanty,,
10Stephen WilliamsIsrael – Premier Tech,,

Ranking General Individual

1Yves LampaertSoudal Quick-Step4:11:44
2Ethan HayterINEOS Grenadiers0:04
3João AlmeidaUAE Team Emirates0:07
4Finn Fisher-BlackUAE Team Emirates,,
5Michael MatthewsTeam Jayco AlUla,,
6Samuel WatsonGroupama – FDJ0:09
7Alberto BettiolEF Education – EasyPost,,
8Stefan KungGroupama – FDJ0:11
9Mauro SchmidTeam Jayco AlUla,,
10Søren Kragh AndersenAlpecin – Deceuninck,,