In an exciting finish, the tall Ecuadorian rider Byron Guamá (Movistar Best PC) took the victory this Friday in the seventh stage of the Tour of Costa Rica 2023, which was held over 126.6 kilometers between San José and Pérez Zeledón.

The experienced runner just surpassed runners Donovan Ramírez (7C – Economy – Lacoinex) and Bryan Raúl Obando (Movistar – Best PC), who occupied second and third position, respectively.

For his part, the Colombian Juan Diego Alba (Movistar Best PC) arrived in seventh place and rose to second place overall, keeping his dream of taking the title of the Costa Rican race alive.

Sergio Arias (Team Colono Bikestation Kölbi) remained in command of the general classification, with seven stages contested, with more than a minute ahead of the Colombian Juan Diego Alba and the Ecuadorian Santiago Montenegro, both from Movistar Best PC.

In the early stages of the day, Bryan Salas (Team Costa Frut-GO RIGO GO) attacked, however, his attempt was unsuccessful and the jealous platoon quickly captured him. Then the Ecuadorian Pablo Caicedo (Movistar Best PC), Fredy Toc (Guatemala National Team) and Esdras Morales (Guatemala National Team) tried their luck, but the lot also neutralized them.

The break of the day was made up of Byrón Guama (Movistar Best PC), Bryan Salas (Team Costa Frut-GO RIGO GO), Richard Huera (Movistar Best PC), Sebastián Moya (Colono Bikestation Kölbi), Kenny Nijssen (Universe Cycling Team), Fredy Toc (Guatemala National Team), José Canastuj (Guatemala National Team), Bryan Obando (Movistar Best PC), but arriving at Cerro de la Muerte they were neutralized.

This Saturday the eighth stage of the Tico round will be held, starting in Pérez Zeledón and Oreamuno, on a route of 117.2 kilometers, which includes a special category mountain prize. The successor of Colombian Marco Tulio Suesca, last year’s champion, will be known on Sunday, December 25 in La Aurora (Costa Rica).

Stage 7 | San José – Pérez Celedón (126,6 km)

1Byron Guamá *EcuadorMovistar-Best PC3:25:34
2Donovan Ramírez *Costa Rica7C-Economy Lacoinexm.t.
3Brayan Obando *EcuadorMovistar-Best PCm.t.
4Andrés Alpizar *Costa RicaCiclo Cafe Mena0:17
5Leandro Varela *Costa Rica7C-Economy Lacoinex0:18

Ranking General

1Sergio Arias *Costa RicaTeam Colono Bikestation Kölbi22:17:23
2 Juan Diego Alba *ColombiaMovistar-Best PC1:25
3Santiago Montenegro *EcuadorMovistar-Best PC1:33
4Kevin Rivera *Costa Rica7C-Economy Lacoinex2:23
5Leandro Varela *Costa Rica7C-Economy Lacoinex3:51