Everything is ready in the Colombian city of Cali to host the World Youth Track Cycling Championship at the majestic Alcides Nieto Patiño velodrome, from August 23 to 27, with the confirmation of 46 nations and close to half a thousand riders, while It is endorsed by the International Cycling Union (UCI).

Due to the recent results, it is expected that in the universal fight several brands will be beaten for this category. The Italians, in the continental championship held last July in Portugal, set new times in the team pursuit (3 minutes, 53 seconds and 980 thousandths) and the individual pursuit (3 minutes, 07 seconds and 596 thousandths for the three kilometers).

China and the United States, as great powers of world sport, are powerfully attracting attention within the new group of registered countries, which also includes Australia, New Zealand, Germany, Spain, France, Great Britain, Greece and the Netherlands, among others.

The tests that will be held in the World Cup are: 500 meter individual time trial, speed, madison, individual pursuit, team pursuit, points race, keirin, team speed, scratch, omnium, elimination and the kilometer.

“Cali has experience organizing this type of event, since they have organized 17 World Cups and an Elite World Championship in 2014,” said Hernando Zuluaga, from the Organizing Committee, to several digital sites in his country.

The local roster was announced this Thursday and is headed by the multiple Pan American champion Juliana Londoño and the world junior keirin runner-up in 2022, Francisco Jaramillo, who are the surest trump cards to discuss a title.

Londoño was the great star of Colombia in the Pan American Junior Track Championship held last May in Asunción, in which she won the titles of the scratch, the omnium, the individual pursuit, the madison and the team pursuit.

The team of 21 athletes also includes Mariana Londoño and Yulieth Aguirre, who have just competed in the Glasgow Cycling World Championships.

In the men’s category, in addition to Jaramillo, Nicolás Olivera, Juan Diego Bautista, Lenin Pareja, Juan Lugo, Erick Parra, Esteban Rojas, Miguel Marín, Cristian Vélez, Emerson Gordillo, Manuel Jurado and Jorge Marín were called up.