The Olympic road champion in Tokyo 2020, Richard Carapaz, demonstrated, once again, his level in cycling. The Ecuadorian took second place on the podium in the one-day Tre Valli Varesine 2023 competition, which took place in Varese (Italy) this Tuesday, October 3, 2023.

The ‘Carchi Locomotive’ had an excellent performance in the last kilometer of the competition to make an attack and take second place in the Italian classic. The tricolor surpassed the group that was chasing the Belgian Van Wilder Ilan, who took first place.

Carapaz arrived 16 seconds after Van Wilder and two seconds later the Russian Vlasov Aleksandr arrived. It was a final full of emotions, as the Belgian from Soudal Quick-Step moved away from the group of favorites, which included Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) and Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma), on the last climb to Morosolo and achieved the solo victory.

“Our Ecuadorian champion rode smartly in Tre Valli Varesine. He launched a timely attack from the chasing group to secure second place in this one-day race in Italy. “It’s always fun to see Richie out there,” wrote ‘Richie’s’ team, EF Pro Cycling, on their social media.

The Tre Valli Varesine 2023 is Carapaz’s fifth competition this season. He had previously competed in the Giro della Toscana, the Coppa Sabatini, the Tour of Luxembourg and the Giro d’Emilia. His next participation will take place in the Giro de Lombardia on October 7.

In addition, the Olympic champion heads the Ecuadorian delegation that will compete in the 2023 Pan American Games in Santiago, Chile, which will be held from October 20 to November 5, 2023. There he will be one of the favorites for the title of continental champion in the route.

Tre Valli Varesine 2023 (1.Pro)
Results (196,5 km)

1 Ilan Van WilderSoudal – Quick Step4:36:11
2 Richard CarapazEF Education-EasyPost0:16
3 Aleksandr VlasovBora – Hansgrohe0:18
4 Primož RogličJumbo-Visma,,
5 Tadej PogačarUAE Team Emirates,,
6 Michael WoodsIsrael – Premier Tech,,
7 Filippo ZanaTeam Jayco AlUla,,
8 Ion IzagirreCofidis,,
9 Carlos RodríguezINEOS Grenadiers,,
10 Ben O’ConnorAG2R Citroën Team,,

Source: Tele Amazonas