The cyclist from Team Banco Guayaquil Ecuador, Carlos Gutiérrez, was proclaimed the winner of the eighth stage of the Vuelta Costa Rica Telecable with a time of 02:39:00 after 94 kilometers between Llanos de Santa Lucía and Parque de Paraíso, in a day full podium for Colombia.

In the second position of the stage, the general leader of the competition entered, Marco Tulio Suesca (he has already spent three days with the yellow jersey) and the third place was occupied by Wilson Haro, both Gutiérrez’s teammates.

The stage was marked by cold weather and heavy rain that accompanied the runners, the caravan, as well as the large number of people who came to paradise to enjoy the Tour.

The escape of the day was led by Steven Haro (Team Banco Guayaquil), Randish Lorenzo (Panama is Culture and Values), Daniel Bonilla (Colono Construccion Bike Station), Kenny Nijssen (Global Cycling) and Bryan Salas (7C-Economy Lacoinex), but in the final kilometers they were neutralized by the Colombians in the final ascent to the Mirador de Oros.

The best local runner in the segment was Sergio Arias, who entered fourth with a time of 02:39:08 and now stands as the best national runner in the event by anchoring third in the individual overall, 9:41 minutes behind the leader. .

Marco Tulio Suesca continues as the general leader and best ranked by points (112), while Gabriel Rojas continues to lead in the sub 23 classification. In flying goals, Franklin Archibold took the first position with 12 points, while the mountain is dominated by the coffee farmer Robinson Chalapud with 47 units.

The Costa Rican round will present its ninth chapter this Saturday, a 12.3-kilometre time trial starting at Cot and arriving at La Pastora. The successor to Costa Rican Daniel Bonilla, last year’s champion, will be known on Sunday, December 25 with the Presidente circuit.

Oficial Results:

Source: FECOCI y Revista Mundo Ciclístico