The Ibero-American Community Trophy, awarded each year by the Higher Sports Council of Spain, fell this time to the Pan-American Cycling Confederation (COPACI), which was celebrating its centenary in 2022, as stated in the jury’s minutes. to be announced this December 27.

As recognized by the jury, COPACI stood out in the section of best Ibero-American athlete, entity, club or institution in 2022 for its activities carried out as part of its 100 years of founding, while its impact in Ibero-America has left traces of names and human values.

Upon hearing the news, José Peláez, President of COPACI, thanked the recognition “as a result of teamwork and a legacy that transcends medals or events, since the most important thing has been the formation of a cycling culture on our continent.”

The also head of the Iberian Cycling Union expressed that it is an honor to be the first sports Confederation in America to receive this Trophy as part of the 14 categories that are awarded each year. “We assume it as a commitment to continue carrying cycling forward on our continent, as requested by the International Cycling Union (UCI).”

The Higher Sports Council of Spain received more than 120 proposals for the 2022 edition of the National Sports Awards. A jury made up of representatives of the Spanish Olympic Committee, the Spanish Paralympic Committee, federations and sports competitions, high-level athletes and representatives of the sports press and the sports industry, among others, were in charge of evaluating and selecting the proposals.

Among the winners, tennis player Carlos Alcaraz and triathlete Susana Rodríguez also stand out, deserving of the King Felipe and Queen Letizia awards, respectively, which recognize the best athlete of that year.

The National Sports Awards, which since 1982 have been awarded by the Government of Spain through the Higher Sports Council, will be solemnly presented in a public event during the first quarter of 2024, which will be presided over by the Kings of Spain and the sports authorities of the nation.

Winners of the Ibero-American Community Trophy

1981Guillermo Vilas (Argentina)Tenis
1982Luis Mariano Delis Fournier (Cuba)Atletismo
1983Ernesto Cantó (México)Atletismo
1984Carlos Alberto de Sosa Lopes (Portugal)Atletismo
1985Carlos Alberto de Sosa Lopes (Portugal)Atletismo
1986Oscar Smith Becerra (Brasil)Baloncesto
1987Rosa Mª Correia Dos Santos Mota (Portugal)Atletismo
1988Javier Sotomayor (Cuba)Atletismo
1989Arturo Barrios (México)Atletismo
1990Gabriela Sabatini (Argentina)Tenis
1991Selección Juvenil de Fútbol (Portugal)Fútbol
1992Selección Cubana de Voleibol (Cuba)Voleibol
1993Javier Sotomayor (Cuba)Atletismo
1994Silvia Costa (Cuba)Atletismo
1995Ana Fidelia Quirot (España)Atletismo
1996Jefferson Leonardo Pérez Quesada (Ecuador)Atletismo
1997Daniel García (México)Atletismo
1998Manuela Machado (Portugal)Atletismo
1999Ivan Pedroso (Cuba)Atletismo
2000María Isabel Urrutia (Colombia)Halterofilia
2001Juan Pablo Montoya (Colombia)Automovilismo
2002Roberto Carlos da Silva (Brasil)Fútbol
2003Ronaldo Luis Nazario de Lima (Brasil)Fútbol
2004Félix Sánchez MorceloAtletismo
2005Ronaldo de Assis MoreiraFútbol
2006Anderson Luis de Souza (Brasil)Fútbol
2007Lionel Andrés MessiFútbol
2008Sergio Leonel Agüero del Castillo 
 Kun Agüero (Argentina)Fútbol
2009César Augusto Cielo FilhoNatación
2010Luciana Paula AymarHockey Hierba
2011Cristiano Ronaldo do Santos AveiroFútbol
2012Radamel Falcao GarcíaFútbol
2013Diego Pablo SimeoneFútbol
2014Nairo QuintanaCiclismo
2015Jorge SampaoliFútbol
2016Santiago Lange y Cecilia CarranzaFútbol
2017Keylor Antonio Navas GamboaFútbol
2018Yulimar RojasAtletismo
2019Carlos Wagner Gularte Filho.Fútbol Sala
2020Premio Extraordinario 
2021Yulimar Rojas RodríguezAtletismo
2022Confederación Panamericana de CiclismoCiclismo