Since this Friday, the different delegations that will participate in the Pan American Road Cycling Championship, which will be held from May 20 to 26, in the municipality of San José dos Campos, Brazil, began to arrive in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

The Pan American Road Cycling Championships, an event organized by the Brazilian Cycling Confederation, with the support of the Pan American Confederation and under the guidelines of the International Cycling Union, will gather more than 400 cyclists from 31 countries, who will compete in individual time trial and road races, in the Elite, Under-23 and Junior categories, in men, and Elite and Junior, in women.

Colombia with 26 cyclists

The Colombian Road National Team will compete with a roster of 26 cyclists, called by the national coach Carlos Mario Jaramillo. In the men’s elite category, the national team will be composed of six cyclists: the champion of the time trial in the Pan American Games Santiago 2023 and in the Pan American Championship in Panama 2023, Walter Vargas, who will be accompanied by his colleagues in Team Medellin-EPM, Brayan Sanchez, fifth in the Tour de Gila 2024, and Wilmar Paredes, winner of five stages so far this season and champion of the Jamaica Classic 2024.

Completing the team are: Nelson Andrés Soto, stage winner in the Vuelta al Táchira and who comes from competing in Spain and Italy with Forte Petrolike-Androni Giocattoli; Juan Diego Hoyos, stage winner in the Clásica de Rionegro, with Team Sistecrédito, and Anderson Arboleda, stage winner in the Vuelta de la Juventud 2023 and current rider of NU Colombia.

In the elite female branch six riders will be part of the team, which will be headed by Jessenia Meneses González, who comes from racing the Spanish calendar with the continental team Laboral Kutxa – Fundación Euskadi; and who will be accompanied by the elite national champion of the CRI, Diana Carolina Peñuela, from DNA Pro Cycling; the national U-23 road and time trial champion, Carolina Vargas Atehortúa, who has just raced the women’s Vuelta a España with the Eneicat CM Team; and the multiple national champion of the CRI, Lina Marcela Hernández (Ciclismo Mindeporte).

Also competing will be Camila Andrea Valbuena Roa (Clarus Merquimia-Strongman), recent champion of the Vuelta al Tolima and Karen Lorena Villamizar (Boneshaker Project), national runner-up of the CRI in 2024 and Top 10 in the Tour El Salvador, the Vuelta Ciclística Internacional Femenina a Guatemala and the Tour de Gila this season.

In the U-23 category, the Colombian National Team will compete with the national road champion, Brandon Alejandro Rojas Vega, from GW Erco Shimano; with the national time trial champion, Freddy Alejandro Ávila, from Ciclismo Mindeporte, and with the rider of the UAE Team Emirates development team and stage winner in the Vuelta a Colombia 2023, Jonathan Guatibonza.

Likewise, three of the most outstanding figures in the recent Vuelta de la Juventud will be part of the national Under-23 team: the overall and mountain champion, Héctor Ferney Molina, from Team Sistecrédito; the points and sprint champion, Camilo Sepúlveda from Orgullo Paisa, and the third overall and winner of the last stage, Jaider Muñoz, from Team Sistecrédito.

Meanwhile, in the junior categories, the national road champion and champion of the Vuelta del Porvenir 2023, Juan Diego Quintero of Team Sistecrédito; the Pan-American champion of the individual time trial in Panama 2023, Robinson Rincón Quijano, who rides with the Italian squad Team Polti Kometa-Junior, will be competing; Juan David Restrepo from Caldas, road champion in the recent Bolivarian Youth Games, and Johan Steven Rubio (Boyacá es para Vivirla), champion of the Clásica Nacional de Anapoima 2024.

In junior women, Team Sistecrédito riders will be competing: Luciana Osorio, national champion in road and time trial and double champion in the Bolivarian Youth Games; Manuela Cantor, bronze medalist in Sucre 2024, and Samara Bedoya, with outstanding performances in national youth competitions. María Fernanda Torres, from the Bogotá League, will also be present.

Luciana Osorio, gold medalist in the road race at the Bolivarian Youth Games 2024.

The Guatemalan troop

According to the Guatemalan Cycling Federation, these are the cyclists who will represent the country:

Juvenile male: Luis Godoy

Under-23 men: Wilson Chonay, Elí Sisimith and Melvin Torres.

Elite women: Gabriela Soto

Elite men: Manuel Rodas, Gerson Toc, Dorian Monterroso, Sergio Chumil, Julio Padilla and Rony Julajuj, the best Guatemalan in the Vuelta Bantrab 2024.

Costa Rica with 15 cyclists

The Costa Rican Cycling Federation revealed the roster that will represent the country in the Pan American Road Championships from May 20 to 27 in San José Dos Campos, Sao Paulo, Brazil.

The national team will be made up of 15 cyclists, six women and nine men in the Elite and Under 23 categories, chosen under the criteria of Paula Herrera and José Adrián Bonilla, national road selections.

In the women’s category, Diandra Ramírez and Cristel Espinoza were designated for the time trial, while in the men’s category, Donovan Ramírez, Gabriel Pacheco and Jason Huertas will have this mission.

U23 Women’s Category

Diandra Ramírez (CRI)

Alondra Granados

Dixiana Quesada

U23 Male Category

Donovan Ramirez (CRI)

Gabriel Pacheco (CRI)

Emanuel Castro

Luis Aguilar

Josué Salas

Women’s Elite Category

Cristel Espinoza (CRI)

Sharon Ramirez

Giovanna Tanzi

Elite Men Category

Daniel Bonilla

Sebastian Brenes

Jason Huertas (CRI)

Gabriel Rojas

It will be the second international outing for both the Costa Rican National Team, male and female, after their participation in the Vuelta Bantrab and the Tour El Salvador.

The Pan American Road Championship is a scoring event for the world championship of the specialty to be held this year in Zurich, Germany, from September 21 to 29, 2024.