The Guatemalan Cycling Federation officially presented the 62nd edition of the Tour of Guatemala with a total of 10 stages and more than 1,300 kilometers, which will begin on November 17 from the department of Petén and will end on Sunday, November 26 with the traditional circuit in the Peripheral Ring.

The event endorsed by the International Cycling Union (UCI) in the 2.2 category will have the participation of 114 cyclists, divided into 14 local teams and 5 international formations: Ecuador National Team, Honduras National Team and three Mexican teams Canel’s Pro Cycling, AgroMX Cultivando Campeones and Petrolike, which has Hernando Bohórquez, Hernán Aguirre and Bernardo Suaza in its ranks.

For this edition, a time bonus system will be implemented at the arrivals of each stage, as in elite events at an international level. The caravan will face a varied route with high mileage stages and very mountainous routes. The queen stage will be the sixth day, which will begin in Tecún Uman and end in Totonicapán.

The organizers announced the different sweaters of the competition, where the individual general leader, best Guatemalan, leader of flying goals, leader of mountain awards, leader of regularity, leader under 23 and stage winner will be awarded.

To guarantee the safety of the participants and spectators of La Vuelta a Guatemala, the Organizing Committee will have the support of the country’s security entities. “More than 16 elite group agents of the National Civil Police, eight traffic agents, and eight provisional agents will be the ones guarding the caravan at all times.”

It was highlighted that the Vuelta, which is classified as 2.2 by the UCI, will also have the participation of four UCI international commissioners and more than 16 national commissioners.

Stages Return to Guatemala

November 17: 115 kilometers Start and finish San Benito.

November 18: 203 kilometers Castillo de San Felipe-Ipala.

November 19: 119 kilometers El Progreso – Fraijanes

November 20: 196 kilometers Antigua Guatemala – Coatepeque.

November 21: 91.5 kilometers Catarina, San Marcos – San Rafael Pie de la Cuesta.

November 22: 142.7 kilometers Tecun Umán, San Marcos – Totonicapán.

November 23: 124.6 kilometers La Esperanza, Quetzaltenango – Esquipulas Palo Gordo.

November 24: 136.5 kilometers Momostenango – Pamezabal.

November 25: 133.8 kilometers Aldea Barraneché – Cerro de la Cruz.

November 26: 109.4 kilometers Villa Linda Circuit

Source: Diario Prensa Libre