The second week of the 2023 Vuelta a España began this Tuesday with the victory of the Italian Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers) in a 25-kilometer individual time trial in the city of Valladolid, where the American Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma) retained the lead in the overall.

After all the defeats accumulated this season, Filippo Ganna asserted his strength against the clock in a stage that seemed made for him and where, as expected, there were not excessive differences between the favorites, so everything remains to be decided for the mountain.

The Italian cyclist added his number three victory in the accumulated of the year in days to the stopwatch. Ganna signed the victory with a time of 27:39, at an average speed of 55.96 km/h, valid to beat Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) by 16 seconds and the Slovenian Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Step) by 36. visma).

Regarding the general classification, the American Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma) saved the lead in the Spanish round. The Spanish Marc Soler (UAE Team Emirates) was 2nd at 26 seconds and the Belgian Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) moved up to third place at 1:09.

The great beneficiary of the time trial was Remco Evenepoel, who is looking for his second consecutive title, making important differences to some of his main rivals, such as Primoz Roglic (Jumbo Visma) who gave up 20 seconds with the Belgian.

In total there were 170 cyclists who took the game. The Spanish Javier Romo (Astana-Qazaqstan) and the Ecuadorian Jefferson Cepeda (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), victims of falls in previous stages, withdrew from the race.

In relation to the Latinos, the best classified was the Colombian Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) in the 29th box at 2:26 from the winner of the time trial. Also among the top 50 were his compatriots Einer Rubio (Movistar Team) in 44th place and Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) in 47th position.

The Spanish round will continue this Wednesday with a 163.1-kilometre mid-mountain section starting in Lerma and finishing at Laguna Negra-Vinuesa, which includes another first-category hilltop finish.

Classification Stage 10

  1. Filippo Ganna (INEOS Grenadiers)
  2. Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep) +16’’
  3. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) +36’’
  4. Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) +50’’
  5. Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) +52’’
  6. Mattia Cattaneo (Soudal-QuickStep) +1’09’’
  7. Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates) +1’11’’
  8. Marc Soler (UAE Team Emirates) +1’12’’
  9. Nelson Oliveir (Movistar Team) m.t.
  10. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) +1’18’’

General Classification

  1. Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma) +35h52’38’’
  2. Marc Soler (UAE Team Emirates) +26’’
  3. Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep) +1’09’’
  4. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) +1’36’’
  5. Lenny Martinez (Groupama-FDJ) +2’02’’
  6. Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) +2’16’’
  7. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) +2’22’’
  8. Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates) +2’25’’
  9. Enric Mas (Movistar Team) +2’50’’
  10. Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) +3’14’’