In another fast finish, Max Kanter (Astana Qazaqstan Team) emerged victorious in the second stage of the Tour of Turkey, after riding 190.6 kilometers between the Turkish towns of Kemer and Kaş.

The German sprinter, who achieved his first victory of the season, won the duel with his compatriot Henri Uhlig (Alpecin – Deceuninck) and the Danish Tobias Lund Andresen (Team dsm-firmenich PostNL), who finished second and third, respectively.

The breakaway of the day was led by Antoine Berlin (Bike AID), David Lozano (Novo Nordisk), Gianni Marchand (Tarteletto-Isorex), Vinzent Dorn (Bike Aid), Samet Bulut (Beykoz Belediyesi Spor Türkiye), Jakub Kaczmarek (Mazowsze Serce Polski) and Jonathan Malte Rottmann (Rembe Sauerland), but they were caught by the peloton in the final kilometers.

As most of the dropped riders managed to get back in touch on the descent, Jakobsen and Cavendish were the big absentees. However, with 20 km to go, nothing seemed to prevent another bunch sprint finish. There, Astana Qazaqstan Team’s Max Kanter took the win ahead of Henri Uhlig and Tobias Lund Andresen.

The Turkish round will continue on Tuesday with the third stage, an undulating day that will take the riders from Fethiye to Marmaris over 147 kilometers, on a route that includes two categorized third-category mountain passes.

Presidential Cycling Tour of Türkiye 2024 (2.Pro)
Results Stage 2 | Kemer – Kaş (190,6 km)

1 Max KanterAstana Qazaqstan Team4:43:16
2 Henri UhligAlpecin – Deceuninck,,
3 Tobias Lund AndresenTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL,,
4 Davide BalleriniAstana Qazaqstan Team,,
5 Giovanni LonardiTeam Polti Kometa,,
6 David GonzálezCaja Rural – Seguros RGA,,
7 Xianjing LyuChina Glory – Mentech Continental Cycling Team,,
8 Danny van PoppelBORA – hansgrohe,,
9 Rory TownsendQ36.5 Pro Cycling Team,,
10 Marcin BudzińskiMazowsze Serce Polski,,

Ranking General

1 Henri UhligAlpecin – Deceuninck7:39:24
2 Tobias Lund AndresenTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL0:02
3 David LozanoTeam Novo Nordisk0:03
4 Tomasz BudzińskiMazowsze Serce Polski0:04
5 Giovanni LonardiTeam Polti Kometa0:06
6 Davide BalleriniAstana Qazaqstan Team,,
7 Rory TownsendQ36.5 Pro Cycling Team,,
8 Merhawi KudusTerengganu Cycling Team,,
9 Matyáš KopeckýTeam Novo Nordisk,,
10 Kenneth Van RooyBingoal WB,,