In an uphill finish, Georg Steinhauser (EF Education – EasyPost) won stage 17 of the Giro d’Italia 2024 by winning from the breakaway, while Slovenian Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) pulled further ahead of his rivals in the individual overall, a classification in which Colombian Daniel Felipe Martínez (BORA – hansgrohe) returned to second place after entering fifth in the segment.

The young Teutonic rider took the victory after riding 159 kilometers between Selva di Val Gardena and Passo Brocon. Italian Antonio Tiberi (Bahrain – Victorious) came in third, leading the group of favorites, more than a minute behind Steinhauser.

The breakaway of the day was led by Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Lidl-Trek), Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal Quick-Step), Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Victorious), Marco Frigo (Israel-Premier Tech), Georg Steinhauser (EF Education-EasyPost), Davide Ballerini (Astana Qazaqstan), Attila Valter (Visma | Lease a Bike) and Nicola Conci (Alpecin-Deceuninck).

In the final stretch, Georg Steinhauser was the main protagonist, attacking his breakaway companions with 34 kilometers to go. The EF Education – EasyPost rider soloed up the last climb and held on until the finish to give his team its second win in the Corsa Rosa.

The Italian round will continue its 18th stage on Thursday, May 23, a 178-kilometer leg-breaking day between Fiera di primero and Padova, which includes a fourth-category mountain prize.

Giro d’Italia 2024 (2.UWT)
Results Stage 17 | Selva di Val Gardena – Passo Brocon (159 km)

1 Georg SteinhauserEF Education – EasyPost4:28:51
2 Tadej PogačarUAE Team Emirates1:24
3 Antonio TiberiBahrain – Victorious1:42
4 Geraint ThomasINEOS Grenadiers,,
5 Daniel Felipe MartínezBORA – hansgrohe,,
6 Einer RubioMovistar Team,,
7 Romain BardetTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL,,
8 Thymen ArensmanINEOS Grenadiers1:55
9 Jan HirtSoudal Quick-Step,,
10 Rafał MajkaUAE Team Emirates,,

Ranking General

1 Tadej PogačarUAE Team Emirates63:31:18
2 Daniel Felipe MartínezBORA – hansgrohe7:42
3 Geraint ThomasINEOS Grenadiers8:04
4 Ben O’ConnorDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team9:47
5 Antonio TiberiBahrain – Victorious10:29
6 Thymen ArensmanINEOS Grenadiers11:10
7 Romain BardetTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL12:42
8 Einer RubioMovistar Team13:33
9 Filippo ZanaTeam Jayco AlUla13:52
10 Jan HirtSoudal Quick-Step14:44

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico