With a breakaway in the last 20 kilometers, the Guatemalan Henry Sam (Decorabaños) won alone during the fourth stage of the Tour For Just Peace, which changed the leader in the general classification, now held by the local Edgar Torres (Hino- One-La Red-Suzuki).

Henry Sam repeated the victory achieved in the same section of the contest in 2022, after a counterattack in the last kilometers of ascent. Henry Sam completed three hours and 17 seconds, escorted by Victor Tuiz (Hino-One-La Red-Suzuki) and Miguel Cendales (AGROMX).

“We are very happy with the results. The mountain was run at a fairly demanding altimetry. We tried from start to finish and I had the support of my team”, commented the winner of the stage, played over 112 kilometres.

“We attacked with about 20 kilometers to go. We don’t think of anything other than giving everything until the end. Assuming the mountain leadership was also something exciting because we had not thought about it, but I am maturing in races of this type and we plan to keep it until the end ”, he declared to the Guatemalan Cycling Federation.

Officially, Edgar Torres is the new leader with 11 hours, 43 minutes and 2 seconds, seconded by his teammate Sergio Chumil (11:43:40) and Oscar Pachón (Iowa Latino Racing) with a time of 11:43:42.

The last stage runs this Sunday with start and finish in Aldea. Considered the queen stage of the event (200 kilometers), it will cover Santiago Zamora, San Antonio Aguas Calientes, Sacatepéquez and return to Escuintla.

Fourth Stage

1.- Henry Sam (3:00:17) Bathroom decorator

2.- Victor Tuiz (3:00:43) Hino-One-La Red-Suzuki

3.- Miguel Cendales (3:00:51) AGROMX

Elite Individual General.

1.- Edgar Torres (11:43:02) Hino-One-La Red-Suzuki

2.- Sergio Chumil (11:43:40) Hino-One-La Red-Suzuki av

3.- Oscar Pachón (11:43:42) Iowa Latino Racing

Overall Under-23.

1.- Sebastián Calderón (11:46:09) Carithos

2.- Eli Sisimit (11:47:03) PPP Development

3.- Wilson Chonay (11:47:05) Chimaltenango Association

Flying goals.

1.- David Abrego (35 points) AGROMX

2.- Nestor Rueda (22 points) Iowa Latino Racing

3.- Carlos Romero (23 points) AGROMX

Mountain General.

1.- Henry Sam (18 points) Bathroom decor

2.- Jonathan González (5 points) Aldosa Jalapa

3.- Victor Tuiz (3 points) Hino-One-La Red-Suzuki