The Clasica Brabantse Pijl-Flecha Brabanzona 2024 was won by Frenchman Benoît Cosnefroy, after a demanding race of 195.2 kilometers, where the highlight for America was the fifth place of Ecuadorian Jefferson Alveiro Cepeda (Caja Rural-Seguros-RGA).

The French rider was joined on the podium by Belgians Dylan Teuns (Israel – Premier Tech) and Tim Wellens (UAE Team Emirates), who finished second and third, respectively, after a close sprint in which only seven riders participated.

Despite the unfamiliar terrain – none of the Caja Rural-Seguros RGA riders had participated in the race before – and the difficulty of both the rivals and the course itself, the debut of the green formation in a classic in the history of Flecha Brabanzona resulted in a more than satisfactory overall performance.

Jefferson Cepeda was the spearhead of the team in the decisive phase, hanging around the front positions of the main group in the key points of the last lap. Very attentive, showing legs as well as intelligence, the Ecuadorian jumped in search of a three-man breakaway composed of Wellens (UAD), Van den Berg (EFE) and Teuns (IPT) in the last 10 kilometers. Besides him, only Blackmore (IPT), Hermans (ADC) and eventual winner Cosnefroy (DAT) joined the group.

After the race Cepeda told the media: “We had recognized the circuit yesterday and the truth is that it was a hard course, where the placement was very important. Although I’m not the best at it, I was able to defend myself. I have a good feeling, I wanted to take advantage of the form and it went the best way.

“It’s the first time I’ve ridden in Belgium and I didn’t expect to be so far ahead, but I did expect to have a good race. I’ve always liked hard races like this. I can learn and improve some more things, but I’m happy with the form. I think a good result will come, one better than today.”

Cosnefroy, who was second in 2022 and third in 2023 and 2020, succeeded his compatriot Dorian Godon, last year’s winner, in the list of winners of the Flèche Brabanzona.

De Brabantse Pijl – La Flèche Brabançonne ME 2024 (1.Pro)
Results (195,2 km)

1 Benoît CosnefroyDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team4:17:02
2 Dylan TeunsIsrael – Premier Tech,,
3 Tim WellensUAE Team Emirates,,
4 Joseph BlackmoreIsrael – Premier Tech,,
5 Jefferson Alveiro Cepeda Caja Rural – Seguros RGA,,
6 Quinten HermansAlpecin – Deceuninck,,
7 Marijn van den BergEF Education – EasyPost0:10
8 Michael MatthewsTeam Jayco AlUla0:28
9 Vito BraetIntermarché – Wanty,,
10 Corbin StrongIsrael – Premier Tech,,