On a very rainy and leg-breaking day, Juanpe López (Lidl-Trek) was victorious in the third stage of the Tour of the Alps, held in the Austrian city of Schwaz over a 124.8-kilometer route in mountainous terrain.

The Spanish rider moved in the last 10 kilometers and managed to reach the finish line alone, ahead of Italian Giulio Pellizzari (VF Group Bardiani-CSF Faizanè), who came in 2nd, 22 seconds behind. Third came Norwegian Tobias Foss (INEOS Grenadiers), who handed over the lead of the race to Juanpe Lopez.

With three categorized ports during the route, the Colombian Iván Ramiro Sosa (Movistar Team) was always with the best and fulfilled an outstanding performance, arriving with the favorites in tenth place, which allowed him to enter the top 10 of the overall individual classification.

In the early stages of the day, Italian Filippo Ganna (INEOS Grenadiers) broke away from the peloton and animated the race for much of the route, however, the adventure of the time trialist ended 28 kilometers from the finish.

In the final stage, Spaniard Juanpe Lopez (Lidl-Trek) and Italian Giulio Pellizzari (VF Group Bardiani-CSF Faizanè) attacked in the group of favorites. The duo worked harmoniously and managed to distance themselves. In the end the Spaniard was the strongest, taking the victory, his first as a professional.

This Thursday, April 18, the fourth stage of the Tour of the Alps will take the riders from Leifers/Laives to Borgo Valsugana over 141.3 kilometers with two first category mountain passes.

Tour of the Alps 2024 (2.Pro)
Results Stage 3 | Schwaz – Schwaz (124,8 km)

1 Juan Pedro LópezLidl – Trek3:16:11
2 Giulio PellizzariVF Group – Bardiani CSF – Faizanè0:22
3 Tobias FossINEOS Grenadiers0:38
4 Romain BardetTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL,,
5 Aurélien Paret-PeintreDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
6 Antonio TiberiBahrain – Victorious,,
7 Wout PoelsBahrain – Victorious,,
8 Ben O’ConnorDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
9 Valentin Paret-PeintreDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
10 Iván Ramiro SosaMovistar Team,,

Ranking General

1 Juan Pedro LópezLidl – Trek11:22:34
2 Tobias FossINEOS Grenadiers0:31
3 Ben O’ConnorDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team0:45
4 Antonio TiberiBahrain – Victorious0:48
5 Romain BardetTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL,,
6 Wout PoelsBahrain – Victorious,,
7 Valentin Paret-PeintreDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
8 Giulio PellizzariVF Group – Bardiani CSF – Faizanè0:57
9 Aurélien Paret-PeintreDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team1:19
10 Iván Ramiro SosaMovistar Team,,

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico