The breakaway does its thing! Leonel Rodríguez won the eighth fraction of the Tour of Uruguay 2024 ahead of Nicolas Muria (Olimpia de Melo) and Pablo Anchieri (Club Bocas del Cufré), who reported second and third, respectively.

The Charrúa rider of the Club Ciclista Cerro Largo, who achieved his third stage victory in this edition, came out victorious after 194.9 kilometers between Mercedes and Carmelo. The breakaway group arrived with an advantage of more than 15 minutes.

In addition to the outstanding performance of the podium winners, there was a remarkable work by Felipe Reyes of Boca Cufre, who led a breakaway during a stretch of the race and held the lead for several minutes.

Regarding the general classification, there were important changes. Juan Caorsi of Armonía Cycles became the new leader and this Friday he will start dressed in yellow. Caorsi is escorted by Camilo Pimentel, at 28 seconds, and by Leonel Rodríguez at 37.

As for the classification by teams, there were significant changes, since the Club Ciclista Cerro Largo gave up the first place it had held since the beginning of the round, and is now in third place behind Barrio Artigas and Boca Cufre respectively.

Also, in the U23 category, Felipe Reyes, Mateo Mascarñas’ teammate, takes the lead after Mascarñas held the U23 leader’s jersey for seven stages.

The Uruguayan race will continue this Friday with a flat 163.9-kilometer stage linking Carmelo with Trinidad.  The tenth stage will join Trinidad with Durazno on Saturday, and the last one will be on Sunday from Florida to Montevideo, when the successor of the Argentinean Jorge Giacinti, winner of the last edition in 2023, will be known.

Tour of Uruguay (2024)
Results Stage 8 | Mercedes -> Carmelo (194,9 km)

1Leonel RodríguezClub Ciclista Cerro Largo4:28:26
2Nicolas MuriasOlimpia de Melom.t.
3Pablo AnchieriClub Bocas del Cufrém.t.
4Diego jamenSan Antonio de Floridam.t.
5Martin CastroDolores C.Cm.t.
6Manuel CalvoDolores C.Cm.t.
7Juan Caorsi Armonia CCm.t.
8Camilo PimentelClub Ciclista Cerro Largom.t.
9Matías GonzálezC.S.Progreso Canelonesm.t.
10Pablo BonillaCCS Barrio Artigas de 33m.t.

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico y