Tuesday’s sixth stage was one of the longest: 113 cyclists left early from Tacuarembó and after 195 kilometers along routes 26 and 3, they arrived in Paysandú, where, as yesterday, Leonel Rodríguez, two-time national road champion who defends the Club Ciclista Cerro Largo, and who has been the best Uruguayan sprinter for a long time, won the final sprint.

It was a massive finish in the capital of Santa Cruz, where a peloton of 94 riders came to define. Behind the winner, Pablo Anchieri from Náutico de Boca del Cufré came second, Adrián Rodríguez from Club Ciclista Fénix third, Ignacio Maldonado from San Antonio de Florida fourth and Juan Echeverría from Paysandú LIL fifth.

Once again, the favorites did not distance themselves in the individual general classification, which continues to be led by the Brazilian Kleber Ramos of UniFunvic, followed by the Argentinean Alejandro Quilci of Cerro Largo at 18” and by Mateo Mascarañas of Náutico de Boca del Cufré at 46”.

It was a stage to save energy, where the riders preferred to manage thinking about the key stage ahead. Minutes before 08:00 a.m. tomorrow Wednesday, they will start one by one the individual time trial, which will completely shake the individual general classification and will mark between who will be the war on the road in the next days.

The seventh stage of the Uruguayan round will be disputed this Wednesday, with an individual time trial of 21.5 kilometers on route 90. The South American race will end on Sunday, March 31 in Montevideo, when the successor of Argentine Jorge Giacinti, winner of the last edition in 2023, will be announced.

In addition, in the afternoon there will be another 125-kilometer sub-stage from Paysandú to Mercedes along routes 3, 24 and 2.

Tour of Uruguay 2024
Results Stage 6 | Tacuarembó ->
Paysandú (194,8 km)

1Leonel RodríguezClub Ciclista Cerro Largo4:06:12
2Pablo AnchieriCNP Bocas del Cufrém.t.
3Sandro RodríguezC.C. Fénixm.t.
4Ignacio MaldonadoSan Antonio de Floridam.t.
5Juan Martin EcheverriaEquipo Paysandum.t.
6Kleber Silva Unifunvic Pindamondangadaba0:02
7Cristhian GutiérrezArmonía CC0:02
8Alan Matías PresaClub Ciclista Cerro Largo0:02
9Agustín MartínezSAT Team0:02
10Santiago PérezAlas Rojas de Santa Lucia0:02

Ranking General

1Kleber Silva Unifunvic Pindamondangadaba20:21:33
2Alejandro QuilciClub Ciclista Cerro Largo0:18
3 Mateo MascarañasClub Náutico de Boca Cufré0:46
4Leonel RodríguezClub Ciclista Cerro Largo0:47
5Samuel MoralesClub Náutico de Boca Cufré0:50

Source: www.elpais.com.uy