In another great performance, Lilibeth Chacón won the individual time trial of the International Women’s Tour of Costa Rica 2023. The Venezuelan rider dominated the time trial, which started in La Unión and ended in General Viejo and established herself in the lead.

Chacón, from the Clarus Merquimia Group-Strongman team, which won its second consecutive victory in the Costa Rican round, smashed the stopwatches, covering the 24.6 kilometers with a time of 38:16, marking an average of 38.57 km/h.

The podium of the day with the stopwatch was completed by the Canadian Nadia Gontova (Roxo Racing), who finished second and the Mexican Marcela Prieto (Pato Bike BMC Team) entered the third position.

“Tomorrow is the queen stage, we will do our best,” she said after reaching the finish line. “I am very happy with the teamwork we have done, my team is a family, that makes a lot of difference in the stages,” highlighted the race leader.

Lilibeth also commands the modalities of the mountain prizes and the regularity, which demonstrates the South American’s perseverance in the race.

The Costa Rican race for women will continue this Saturday, October 14, with the third stage with a route of 118.4 kilometers, which will take the riders from the City of Palmares to the district of Fátima.

Vuelta Internacional Femenina a Costa Rica (2.2)
Resultados Etapa 2 | La Unión – General Viejo (24,6 km)

1Lilibeth Chacón *VenezuelaClarus Merquimia Group – Strongman0:38:16
2Nadia Gontova *CanadáROXO Racing0:15
3Marcela Prieto *MéxicoPato Bike BMC Team0:43
4Kira Payer *USAROXO Racing1:37
5Karen Villamizar *ColombiaPato Bike BMC Team1:55
6Sharon Ramírez *Costa RicaCMS – Zepol – Muscular1:58
7Jacqueline Laoruche *USAROXO Racing2:00
8Luisa Hernández *ColombiaClarus Merquimia Group – Strongman2:10
9Milagro Mena *Costa RicaColono Bikestation Kölbi2:36
10Jasmin Gabriela Soto *GuatemalaMacizo Cordelsa2:47

Clasificación General Individual

1Lilibeth Chacón *VenezuelaClarus Merquimia Group – Strongman4:07:07
2Nadia Gontova *CanadáROXO Racing0:17
3Marcela Prieto *MéxicoPato Bike BMC Team0:44
4Kira Payer *USAROXO Racing1:39
5Karen Villamizar *ColombiaPato Bike BMC Team1:56
6Jacqueline Larouche *USAROXO Racing2:10
7Luisa Hernández *ColombiaClarus Merquimia Group – Strongman2:20
8Sharon Ramírez *Costa RicaCMS – Zepol – Muscular2:25
9Jasmin Gabriela Soto *GuatemalaMacizo Cordelsa2:49
10Milagro Mena *Costa RicaColono Bikestation Kölbi3:03