Venezuelan Luis Gómez conquered with strength and intelligence the second stage of the Vuelta Ciclística Independencia Nacional, held in the Parque Mirador Sur this Tuesday, after throwing his bicycle to the finish line and leaving the peloton that came in behind him breathless.

On the date that commemorates the national independence, the Dominican giro continued with a competitive race in a closed circuit with a distance of 130 kilometers. The event is dedicated to the President of the Republic Luis Abinader.

Gómez, from the Venezuela País de Futuro team, won the final sprint and his time of 2 hours, 56 minutes and 50 seconds barely beat the group that reached the finish line. Second place went to Angelvis Arroyo, who completed the Venezuelan team’s double. Rodolfo Puello (Team La Romana) took third place.

Colombian Hernán Gómez (Team Herrera Sport), winner of the first stage, stayed with the peloton and continues as leader of the general classification with an accumulated time of 5:28.05, 24 seconds ahead of Eric Snyder, of the Premier Pegasus team.

The 45th version of the Vuelta Ciclística Independencia is supported by Banco de Reservas, EGE Haina, Ministry of Sports, Ministry of Public Works, Café Santo Domingo, Omsa, Gatorade and Ron Depot.

The close competition of the stage was witnessed by dozens of supporters stationed along the Avenida de la Salud. Breakaways were the order of the day from before the halfway point, but they were always caught by the main peloton.

Luis Cruz, from Team Cama, broke away alone six kilometers from the finish line and Duván Farfán tried to do the same, four kilometers from the finish line. Other group breakaways took place until the group was compacted in the last stretch.

Team Herrera Sport continues to lead the team classification with 16:26.27, followed by the tie between Iowa Latino and Venezuela País de Futuro, by just four seconds.

Carlos Samudio (Doglosy Imca) dominates the regularity with 30 points, Hernan Gomez and Luis Gomez follow with 25 points each. Eric Snyder (Pegasus Premier) is the owner of the mountain classification with five points, one more than Esmeider Baez of Team Cama.

Finally, within the individual prizes awarded, Frankel Rodríguez is the best Dominican so far and also dominates the flying goals with 13 points. Anderson Aracena follows him with seven.

This Wednesday the third stage will be run with the route Santo Domingo-San Cristóbal-Baní, Circunvalación de Santo Domingo with a distance of 123 kilometers.