Martín Vidaurre, under 23 world champion in Mountain Bike in 2021, does not mince words when there are only two days left until the opening of the XIX Pan American Games and assured that he is going for the gold to give it to the homeland of Chile, during the planned competitions for Saturday, October 21.

Just before the expected Santiago 2023 Pan American Games start, the outstanding Chilean cyclist Martín Vidaurre (23) is already in Chile, ready for the Mountain Bike competition, in the Olympic Cross Country (XCO) format, which will take place this Saturday October 21 at the Universidad Católica Sports Club, in the Las Condes commune.

The athlete arrived on national soil last week, after closing a strong first season of the UCI XCO circuit in the Elite category, with 18th place in the last World Cup in Mount Saint-Anne, Canada, his best result of the year. Now his focus is on Santiago 2023, and on securing the gold no matter what.

“I come to the games in very good shape. For me the Pan American Games are tremendously important, and I have been preparing practically half of the year for this moment,” said the cyclist.

“It’s a great minute to show everything we’ve worked for and what we’re made of, and I’m going for gold,” he adds.

Vidaurre’s last Pan American Games were in Lima 2019, where he took the bronze medal after recording a time of 1 hour, 27 minutes and 31 seconds, and surpassed only by the Mexican José Ulloa and Henrique Da Silva.

  Registered for the MTB race for men

1. Catriel Andrés Soto – Argentina

2. Joel Fernando Contreras – Argentina

3. José Gabriel Marques De Almeida – Brazil

4. Ulan Bastos Galinski – Brazil

5. Carter Woods – Canada

6. Gunnar Holmgren – Canada

7. Ignacio Esteban Gallo Florido – Chile

8. Martín Vidaurre Kossmann – Chile

9. Sebastián Alejandro Miranda Maldonado – Chile

10. Diego Alfonso Arias Cuervo – Colombia

11. Hilvar Yamid Malaver Calderón – Colombia

12. Jonathan Josué Quesada Castillo – Costa Rica

13. Paolo Cesar Montoya Cantillo – Costa Rica

14. Luis Enrique López Nolasco – Honduras

15. Adair Zabdiel Gutiérrez Prieto – Mexico

16. Amando Martínez Galván – Mexico

17. Alexander Urbina Quispe – Peru

18. Georwill Pérez Román – Puerto Rico