The sixth stage of Paris-Nice was won by Mattias Skjelmose (Lidl – Trek), after 198.2 kilometers between Sisteron and La Colle-sur-Loup. The Danish champion was the strongest in the final stretch, winning the duel with the Americans Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) 2nd and Matteo Jorgenson (Team Visma | Lease a Bike) 3rd.

The French race presented a hilly menu on this day with four second-category passes and one third-category climb. The final stage featured a steep uphill terrain that ended up selecting the race.

The day’s breakaway was led by Mads Pedersen (Lidl-Trek), Laurence Pithie (Groupama-FDJ), Gijs Leemreize (dsm-firmenich PostNL), Cedric Beullens (Lotto Dstny), Marco Haller (BORA-hansgrohe), Bruno Armirail (Groupama-FDJ), Christian Scaroni (Astana Qazaqstan), Georg Zimmermann (Intermarché-Wanty), Mathieu Burgaudeau (TotalEnergies) and Michael Storer (Tudor Pro Cycling), but all were caught about sixty kilometers from the finish.

On the first pass through La Colle-sur-Loup (1.8 km at 10.3%), Primoz Roglic (Bora-Hansgrohe) tried, however, he didn’t ride ahead of the peloton for long. Colombian Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) was the first to catch him, followed by Remco Evenepoel (Soudal – Quick Step) and the rest of the favorites.

Then Matteo Jorgenson (Team Visma | Lease a Bike) attacked and immediately took a lead. A few minutes later he was joined by Mattias Skjelmose (Lidl – Trek) and Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates), forming a leading trio. While the chasing group Buitrago had no luck and went to the ground. As a result, Buitrago had to change bikes and lost a lot of time.

The group with leader Luke Plapp remained behind Jorgenson, Skjelmose and McNulty, but the chase took a while to get going, allowing the three leaders to increase their gap.

In the final kilometers, Skjelmose saved his strength and pulled away from his breakaway companions in the final kilometer. McNulty took second place and Jorgenson was third. Remco Evenepoel crossed the finish line in fourth place with a delay of 52 seconds.

Regarding the Latinos, the best were the Colombians Harold Tejada (Astana Qazaqstan Team) in fifth place and Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) in tenth, both 53 seconds behind the winner. While Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious), affected by a fall, finished 16th and Rigoberto Urán (EF Education.EasyPost) finished 31st, more than 4 minutes behind Skjelmose.

In the general classification, Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) regained the lead. The American is now escorted by his compatriot Matteo Jorgenson (Team Visma | Lease a Bike) 23 seconds behind. The podium is completed by Australian Luke Plapp (Team Jayco AlUla) at 34 seconds. Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) is the best American in sixth place at 1:14.

The ‘Race of the Sun’ will continue this Saturday with the dispute of the seventh part, a short mountainous stage of 103.7 kilometers that will connect the city of Nice with Madone d’Utelle.

París – Niza 2024 (2.UWT)
Results Stage 6 | Sisteron – La Colle-sur-Loup (198,2 km)

1 Mattias SkjelmoseLidl – Trek4:36:51
2 Brandon McNultyUAE Team Emirates,,
3 Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike,,
4 Remco EvenepoelSoudal – Quick Step0:52
5 Harold TejadaAstana Qazaqstan Team0:53
6 Aurélien Paret-PeintreDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
7 Felix GallDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
8 Wilco KeldermanTeam Visma | Lease a Bike,,
9 Primož RogličBORA – hansgrohe,,
10 Egan BernalINEOS Grenadiers,,

Ranking General

1 Brandon McNultyUAE Team Emirates22:15:58
2 Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike0:23
3 Luke PlappTeam Jayco AlUla0:34
4 Mattias SkjelmoseLidl – Trek0:54
5 Remco EvenepoelSoudal – Quick Step1:03
6 Egan BernalINEOS Grenadiers1:14
7 João AlmeidaUAE Team Emirates1:30
8 Felix GallDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team1:36
9 Harold TejadaAstana Qazaqstan Team1:37
10 Wilco KeldermanTeam Visma | Lease a Bike1:39

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico