Mexican cyclist Isaac del Toro was crowned Sunday as champion of the 66th Vuelta a Asturias 2024, in a final stage that went from Benia de Onís and was won by his teammate, New Zealander Finn Fisher-Black (UAE Team Emirates).

The last stage of the Vuelta a Asturias -the shortest of the three with 140 kilometers-, started with a breakaway of up to five riders, in which there were four Spaniards Txomin Juaristi (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Hugo Aznar (Kern Pharma Team), Julen Amezqueta (Illes Balears Arabay Cycling) and Eduardo Pérez-Landaluce (Sidi Ali – Unlock Team) and Colombian Fernando Gaviria (Movistar Team).

With 67 kilometers to go, while the peloton was controlled by UAE Team Emirates and Movistar Team, the breakaway continued on its way, although with a change: Hugo Aznar was dropped (Kern Pharma Team) and the Frenchman Thomas Bonnet (TotalEnergies) entered.

The last 20 kilometers of the stage started with the breakaway maintaining up to a minute advantage, but only eight kilometers later and before the arrival in Oviedo, the peloton put an end to the breakaway and the stage was already destined to a sprint finish in the Uría street of the city of Oviedo.

At the sprint, the Spaniard and Asturian Pelayo Sanchez (Movistar Team) seemed to be in the chain, but it was the New Zealander Finn Fisher-Black (UAE Team Emirates) who won his fourth victory as a professional and his first in Spanish territory, ahead of his teammate Isaac del Toro (UAE Team Emirates) and Jordan Jegat (TotalEnergies).

Mexican Isaac del Toro dominated the Asturian round from start to finish and, after winning the first stage and finishing third and second, respectively, in the other two, gets a new victory to continue adding to a great 2024.

Completing the podium of the 66th Vuelta a Asturias were Poland’s Rafal Majka (UAE Team Emirates), second at 01:15 behind his teammate, and Spain’s Eric Antonio Fagúndez (Burgos-BH), third at 01:20. The best Colombian was Petrolike’s Diego Camargo, who finished 10th, 02:20 behind the leader.

Del Toro succeeds the Italian Lorenzo Fortunato who last year ended the Colombian hegemony in the Spanish race that had two consecutive titles for the scarabajos with Iván Ramiro Sosa (2022) and Nairo Quintana (2021).

Clasificación General Individual

1 Isaac del ToroUAE Team Emirates12:59:04
2 Rafał MajkaUAE Team Emirates1:15
3 Eric Antonio FagúndezBurgos – BH1:20
4 José Manuel DíazBurgos – BH1:22
5 Afonso EulálioABTF Betão – Feirense1:48
6 Fernando BarcelóCaja Rural – Seguros RGA2:00
7 Alex MolenaarIlles Balears Arabay Cycling2:20
8 Pelayo SánchezMovistar Team,,
9 Igor ArrietaUAE Team Emirates,,
10 Diego Andrés CamargoPetrolike2:32