In Pradoluengo, Oier Lazkano prevailed ahead of the Colombian Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain-Victorious) in the fourth stage of the Tour of Burgos 2023, held this Friday over a 157-kilometre journey starting in Santa Gadea del Cid and arriving in Acebel- Vizcarra.

The cyclist from the Movistar group achieved partial victory after beating the Colombian Santiago Buitrago from the Bahrain Victorious group, on the climb to Alto de Acebal and third place was taken by Raúl García Pierna, representative of Kern Pharma.

The Spanish rider changed pace in the last few meters to reach the finish line first. Lazkano was the strongest in the final ascent, beating all his breakaway companions, where Ecuadorian Jonathan Caicedo (EF Education-EasyPost) also arrived 4th and Harold Martín López (Astana Qazaqstan Development Team) 6th.

The escape of the day was led by Oier Lazkano (Movistar Team), Jay Vine (UAE Team Emirates), Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious), Matteo Fabbro (Bora-Hansgrohe), Jonathan Klever Caicedo (EF Education-EasyPost), Harold Martín López (Astana Qazaqstan Development Team), Raúl García Pierna (Kern Pharma Team), Joan Bou (Euskaltel – Euskadi) and Gianluca Brambilla (Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team).

This Saturday the last stage of the Spanish round will be held, starting in Golmayo and arriving at Lagunas de Neila, over a 160-kilometre route in a leg-breaking day, which includes three mountaineering prizes, where we will meet the successor of the Frenchman Pavel Sivakov , last year’s champion.

In the final day, the Slovenian Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) will defend a 33-second advantage with Alexander Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) and 38 seconds with Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates).

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico y Polideportes