The Spanish cyclist Oscar Sevilla (Team Medellín-EPM) achieved the crown of the Tour of Panama 2023 that ended Thursday with a 111-kilometer stage on the Cinta Costera 3, which was won by the Panamanian Christofer Jurado (National Aeronaval Service).

There were 15 laps that took place in this circuit marked by a breakaway of six riders, which included the 2022 champion, Bolívar Espinosa from Chiriqui (Panama is Culture and Values), but who, with one lap to go, was neutralized by the pursuit squad .

Jurado surpassed in the sprint the Costa Rican Sebastián Brenes (Seven Card-Economy-Lacoinex) and the also Panamanian Franklin Archibold (Panama is Culture and Values), who registered 2 hours 31 minutes and 36 seconds.

“It has been a victory that gives us a lot of mental strength, it encourages us to move forward in this sport, which is very difficult and you have to be fully involved,” said Christofer Jurado at the end of the tour in the Panamanian capital.

For his part, Oscar Sevilla, who had also won the Vuelta a Chiriquí award in 2012 and 2015, achieved the Tour of Panama title for the first time, totaling 11 hours 49 minutes and 36 seconds.

Panamanian cycling achieved the second place with Carlos Samudio from Chiricano (Rali Giant) who finished 28 seconds behind, while Colombian Wilmar Parades (Team Medellín-EPM) finished in third place at 1:44 minutes.

“It is always a pleasure to race here in Panama, it brings me good feelings. We thank all the members of the team, as well as the Carretero and Rali family for this show they have put together. Cycling in Panama continues to grow and that is very positive”, said Sevilla at the end of the day, who was also the owner of the mountain with 19 units.

Six stages were held in this 2023 edition that also had Cristian Muñoz (Caminos de Omar) as category winners, in Youth; Fernando Ureña (SPI Cycling Team), in Master A; Mojamed Méndez (Aditur PTY), in Master B; Sebastián Brenes (Seven Card-Economy-Lacoinex), in the Points classification and in the Sub-23 the American Taj Kreiger (Río Grande) finished in front.