For the Pan American Road Cycling Championships, which will take place from May 20 to 26 in São José dos Campos, in the Paraíba Valley, in São Paulo, 357 athletes from 31 countries have been confirmed, which ensures not only quality, but also a beautiful show.

The cyclists will be divided into Elite male and female, Under 23 male and Junior male and female categories. The race will be one of the last competitions on the continent before the Olympic Games in Paris in July and is expected to attract big names in the sport from the participating countries.

The leading delegation is Brazil, which will have 30 cyclists, followed by Chile, with 27, Colombia and Ecuador, both with 26, and Panama, with 24. The other confirmed nations are: Bolivia, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Uruguay, Belize, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Cuba, Peru, United States, Jamaica, Paraguay, Venezuela, Bermuda, El Salvador, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Anguilla, Dominica, Cayman Islands, Grenada, Virgin Islands, Honduras and Guyana.

The program will include individual time trials and road races. In the IRB, the races will take place on a 10.7-meter circuit, starting and finishing next to the Farma Conde Arena. The road races will use the circuit (Junior, male and female) and local roads. Last Saturday, the Paulista Road Championship served as a test and used part of the Pan route, with great success.

The Pan American Road Cycling Championship is organized and held by the Brazilian Cycling Confederation (CBC) and the São Paulo Cycling Federation (FPC) with the supervision of the Pan American Cycling Confederation (COPACI) and the support of the Municipality of São José dos Campos and the Government of the State of São Paulo, through the São Paulo State Sports Secretariat, State Military Highway Police, Ecopistas, Artesp and the Federal Government.

The races and routes are as follows:

21/05.  8:00 am – Individual Time Trial / Junior Male (25.4 km) and Female (14.7 km), Under 23 Male (36.1 km) and Elite Female (24.4 km).

05/23/05 8:00 am – Individual Time Trial / Elite Men (36.1 km)

23/05 11:30 am – Road / Junior Men (107 km) and Women (64,2 km)

24/05 10: 00 – Road / U23 Men (163,2 km)

25/05 9:00 – Road / Elite Women (115 km)

26/05 8:00 – Road / Elite Men (208,1 km).

At last year’s Pan American Championships, held in Panama City, the champions were as follows:

Time Trial

Junior Women’s – Champion: Juliana Londono (Colombia)

Junior Men’s – Champion: Robinson Rincon (Colombia)

Elite Women – Champion: Amber Nebem (USA)

U23 Men – Champion: Hector Quintana (Chile)

Elite Men – Champion: Alejan Vargas (Colombia)


Junior Female – Champion: Marian Londono (Colombia)

Junior Men – Champion: Kevin Navas (Ecuador)

Elite Women – Champion: Skyler Schneider (USA)

U23 Men – Champion: Vicente Rojas (Chile)

Elite Men – Champion: Pier-Andre Cote (Canada)