Panamanian cycling continues to dominate in our region and on this occasion it was Honduras, as host, faithful witness of the performance of our heroes of the asphalt, led by the cyclist Franklin Erasmo Archibold who won three gold medals in this Central American Road Championship 2024, which took place between June 6 and 9.

After an extensive Sunday day, Panama won three more medals in this final day of competitions, for a total of ten in the Central American cranks and pedals event.

Franklin Erasmo Archibold, nicknamed “the eagle”, won the 112.8 kilometers Elite long-distance race today, maintaining the Canal hegemony in this cycling modality. A breakaway of ten riders was launched for the final line and Archibold was the most convincing, registering 2 hours 51 minutes and 28 seconds.

The second position went to Costa Rican Daniel Bonilla and the third place went to another Panamanian, Bredio Ruíz from Chitré, province of Herrera, to deliver the bronze for his homeland, both with the same time as the winner.

Of the six versions of the Elite road race, Panama has won four times. In 2020 Alex Strah did it, in 2021 and 2023 it was Christofer Jurado and now Franklin Archibold in this 2024.

On this last day of the VI edition of these Central American Road Championships, a majestic day for our nation, the women also put our flag on the podium, when Wendy Ducreux did a phenomenal job in the closing of this Central American Road Race, getting the first medal for a Panamanian woman cyclist in these events.

Ducreux finished in second place in the long distance race, which was won by the Guatemalan Jasmín Gabriela Soto, who totaled in the 56.4 kilometers, divided in two laps, a time of 1 hour 40 minutes and 49 seconds.

Our national champion, Wendy Ducreux managed to win in the sprint of the chase group with a time of 1 hour 44 minutes and 20 seconds, beating Cynthia Lee, also from Guatemala, who won the bronze medal.

At the end of the three days of events, Panama once again finished at the top of the medal table with four gold, two silver and five bronze medals, followed by Costa Rica with three medals of each color and Guatemala (2-3-1). Belize finished fourth with one silver, while Honduras, El Salvador and Nicaragua were without medals.

The gold medals were obtained in the individual time trial with Franklin Archibold, the women’s time trial with Annibel Prieto, in the men’s team time trial and today Sunday with Franklin Archibold in the men’s road race.

Christofer Jurado in the individual time trial and Wendy Ducreux in the women’s road race also won silver medals for our country.

The bronze medals went to Wendy Ducreux in the women’s individual time trial, Felipe Chan in the U-23 time trial, as well as the women’s team in the time trial and today with Bredio Ruíz.

Source: FEPACI