The Slovenian Primoz Roglic caused a great sensation on the penultimate day of the Giro d’Italia, winning the time trial to Monte Lussari, despite the fact that at one point he had problems with his chain, with which he took Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) out of the pink jersey just one day from closing.

On a demanding and exciting day, Roglic took victory in the 18.6-kilometre time trial between Tarvisio and Monte Lussari with a time of 44:23, valid to beat the British Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) by 40 seconds and the Portuguese João Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) by 42 seconds.

The best Latin Americans on this day were the Colombians Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) in box 17 at 2:44 behind the winner, Einer Rubio (Movistar) in position 21 at 3:29, while Fernando Gaviria (Movistar) occupied Roglic’s position 129 at 11:21.

Regarding the general classification, the British Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers), failed to defend the leader’s pink jersey, giving up 40 seconds with Primoz Roglic and lost the lead of the Italian round.

In total there were 125 cyclists who took the start, the first to start the exercise at the timer was the Italian Nicolas Dalla Valle (Corratec Selle Italia). In the first half, the Frenchman Thibault Guernalec (Team Arkéa Samsic) stood out and spent a long time in the hot seat.

The last stage of the Italian round will be held this Sunday over 126 kilometers starting and finishing in Rome, where we will meet the successor to Australian Jai Hindley, but without a doubt the Slovenian Primoz Roglic is already celebrating in advance.

Classification Stage 20

1.- Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) 44’23”

2.- Geraint Thomas (INEOS Grenadiers) +40”

3.- Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) +42”

4.- Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Victorious) +55”

5.-Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) +59’’

6.-Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma) +01’05”

7.-Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) +01’07”

8.-Thymen Arensman (INEOS Grenadiers) +01’18”

9.- Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM) +01’49”

10.-Jay Vine (UAE Team Emirates) +01’53”

General ranking

1.-Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) 82h40’36”

2.-Geraint Thomas (INEOS Grenadiers) +14”

3.-Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) +01’15”

4.-Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Victorious) +04’40”

5.-Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) +05’43”

6.-Thymen Arensman (INEOS Grenadiers) +06’05”

7.-Eddie Dunbar (Jayco-AlUla) +07’30”

8.- Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM) +07’31”

9.-Lennard Kamna (Bora-Hansgrohe) +07’46”

10.- Laurens de Plus (INEOS Grenadiers) +09’08”