This Saturday, August 19, the Vuelta a Burgos 2023 concluded with the victory of the renowned Primoz Roglic in the fifth stage and in the individual general classification, in what was the first success of the Slovenian in this fair that has been growing in quality for years.

Roglic overcame the last mountainous section without major shocks to finish on the top of the podium in the Spanish race, accompanied by the Russian Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) and the British Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates).

In this fifth segment, 160 kilometers were traveled between Golmayo (Soria) and Lagunas de Neila, where the cyclists had to conquer three mountain passes, two of the third category and the end of the special category.

The stage began with a late break, which after more than 20 kilometers took time to form. Alexander Cepeda, Joe Dombrowski, Jetse Bol, and Carlos Canal. Upon reaching the first port, Alto del Cargadero, the breakaway was more than a minute apart from the peloton, which made the Jumbo team push harder, trying to reduce the time.

The race continued like this for several kilometres. At 10 kilometers from the end of the stage and almost on the ascent of Lagunas de Neila, the last port, the teams began to push the escape, managing to catch it. The Bora, UAE and Jumbo teams began to pull the peloton. The ascent had everyone very close together, it was with two kilometers left to finish the stage that Adam Yates attacked, trying to beat Roglic.

However, the Slovenian managed to stick to Yates’ wheel and started with 300 meters to go, completely defeating all his companions. With this stage victory, Roglic won two stages, which also allowed him to win the general classification.

With his victory, Primoz Roglic succeeded Frenchman Pavel Sivakov, winner of the last edition, in the Vuelta a Burgos.

Results stage 5 | Golmayo – Lagunas de Neila (160 km)

1.- Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) 4:08:31

2.- Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) mt

3.- Aleksandr Vlasov (BORA – hansgrohe) mt

4.- Jay Vine (UAE Team Emirates) 0:30

5.- Einer Augusto Rubio (Movistar Team) 0:48

Final General Classification

1.- Primož Roglič Jumbo-Visma 16:24:49

2.- Aleksandr Vlasov BORA – hansgrohe 0:39

3.- Adam Yates UAE Team Emirates 0:42

4.- Damien Howson Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team 2:07

5.- Einer Augusto Rubio Movistar Team 3:25