Belgian Remco Evenepoel (Soudal – Quick Step), took over the lead of the Critérium du Dauphiné 2024 after winning the fourth stage, an individual time trial of 34.4 kilometers, contested Wednesday between Saint-Germain-Laval and Neulise.

The world champion signed the triumph with a time of 41:49“ at an average speed of 49.35 km / h., valid to beat the British Joshua Tarling (INEOS Grenadiers) by 17 seconds and Slovenian Primož Roglič (BORA – Hansgrohe) by 39”, who finished second and third, respectively.

Evenepoel, in this context, took his first win since the serious crash he suffered in the Itzulia Basque Country two months ago. The Belgian was the only one who could beat Tarling, who had been among the first to complete the course, and took a very convincing victory that puts him at the head of the favorites to win the 76th edition of the Critérium.

This Thursday Evenepoel will start in the leader’s jersey with a 33-second lead over rider Primož Roglič (BORA – Hansgrohe) and 1:04 over American Matteo Jorgenson (Team Visma | Lease a Bike).

Two Colombians had a good performance Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) placed 16th and Harold Tejada (Astana Qazaqstan Team) 17th, both 2:00 minutes behind the winner.

The 76th edition of the French race will continue on Thursday with the fifth stage, a 167-kilometer leg-breaker starting in Amplepuis and finishing in Saint-Priest. The successor to Danish Jonas Vingegaard, last year’s champion, will be announced on Sunday in Plateau des Glières (France).

Critérium du Dauphiné (2.UWT)
Results Stage 4 (CRI) | Saint-Germain-Laval – Neulise (34,4 km)

1Remco EvenepoelSoudal Quick-Step41:49,
2Joshua TarlingINEOS Grenadiers0:17
3Primož RoglicBORA – hansgrohe0:39
4Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike1:07
5Oier LazkanoMovistar Team1;21
6Derek GeeIsrael – Premier Tech1:24
7Neilson PowlessEF Education – EasyPost1:24
8Bruno ArmirailDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team1:26
9Juan AyusoUAE Team Emirates1:27
10Tao Geoghegan HartLidl – Trek1:38,

Ranking General

1Remco EvenepoelSoudal Quick-Step12:27:22
2Primož RoglicBORA – hansgrohe0:33
3Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike1:04
4Derek GeeIsrael – Premier Tech1:11
5Oier LazkanoMovistar Team1:21
6Bruno ArmirailDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team1:25
7Neilson PowlessEF Education – EasyPost,,
8Juan AyusoUAE Team Emirates1:27
9Tao Geoghegan HartLidl – Trek1:39
10Carlos RodríguezINEOS Grenadiers1:41

Fuente: Revista Mundo Ciclístico