After the exciting online race of the Cycling World Championship a few days ago, it was the turn of the individual fight against the clock on the road, with an unusual length of 47.8 kilometers and a tough cobbled final climb to the castle of Stirling. The winner is a Belgian: Remco Evenepoel

Of the 78 participating cyclists, the Belgian rider signed the victory with a time of 55:19” at an average speed of 51.84 km/h, enough to surpass the Italian Filippo Ganna on the podium by 12 seconds, and the British Joshua Tarling for 48”, who occupied the 2nd and 3rd place, respectively.

The fourth and fifth places were occupied by the American Brandon McNulty at 1:27″ and the Belgian Wout van Aert at 1:37″, while the 2023 Pan-American champion in this event, the Colombian Walter Vargas, finished in the 30th place. 3:33” from the new orb holder.

In the first part of the day against the clock, Ryan Mullen was the best with a time of 58:21, so he was in the hot seat for a long time. Then Canadian Derek Gee improved the Irishman’s time by scoring 58:17 at the finish line.

This is how they lost places until the British Joshua Tarlin took possession of the best time at the finish line, a mark that Wout van Aert could not approach, who was second at 49”. Then it would be the duel between Evenopoel and Filippo Ganna.

Already from the first timing point the Italian Ganna managed to set the best time with Remco Evenepoel who was following him closely at just 4 seconds. At the next point, the Belgian would already be able to turn the clock around and take the lead with no less than 12 seconds, an advantage that he would maintain until the end with no option to come back from his rival.

Remco Evenepoel succeeded Norwegian Tobias Foss, surprise winner last year in Wollongong, Australia, in the individual time trial.

World Championships ME–ITT 2023 (WC)

Final Result (47.8 km)

1.- Remco Evenepoel (Belgium) 55:19

2.- Filippo Ganna (Italy) 0:12

3.- Joshua Tarling (Great Britain) 0:48

4.- Brandon McNulty (United States) 1:27

5.- Wout van Aert (Belgium) 1:37

6.- Nelson Oliveira (Portugal) 1:52

7.- Rohan Dennis (Australia) 1:54

8.- Mattia Cattaneo (Italy) 1:57

9.- Mikkel Bjerg (Denmark) 1:59

10.- Geraint Thomas (Great Britain) 2:04