In an uphill finish, Colombian Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) won in spectacular fashion the fourth stage of Paris-Nice 2024, a 183-kilometer mountain stage between the French towns of Chalon-sur-Saône and Mont Brouilly.

The beetle, who achieved his first victory of the season, won with authority ahead of Australian Luke Plapp (Team Jayco AlUla), whom he dropped on the final climb. Danish Mattias Skjelmose (Lidl – Trek) finished third. Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) came in fifth, 39 seconds behind his compatriot.

The breakaway of the day was led by Christian Scaroni (Astana Qazaqstan), Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Dstny), Stefan Bissegger (EF Education-EasyPost) and Mathieu Burgaudeau (TotalEnergies), but in the end they were caught by the peloton.

In the closing stages, Australian Luke Plapp (Team Jayco AlUla) and Colombian Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) jumped and surprised the group of favorites. In the definition the beetle made an acceleration that was key to take a great victory.

As for the general classification, the Australian rider Luke Plapp (Team Jayco AlUla) ended up taking the lead. The podium was completed by Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) and the American Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates). Zipaquireño Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) climbed positions and was in sixth place, 40 seconds behind the leader.

The ‘Race of the Sun’ will continue this Thursday with the dispute of the fifth partial, a leg-breaking day of 193.5 kilometers, which will connect the French towns of Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut and Sisteron.

París – Niza 2024 (2.UWT)
Results Stage 4 | Chalon-sur-Saône – Mont Brouilly (183 km)

1 Santiago BuitragoBahrain – Victorious4:25:52
2 Luke PlappTeam Jayco AlUla0:10
3 Mattias SkjelmoseLidl – Trek0:37
4 Remco EvenepoelSoudal – Quick Step,,
5 Egan BernalINEOS Grenadiers0:39
6 Felix GallDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
7 Primož RogličBORA – hansgrohe,,
8 Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike,,
9 Harold TejadaAstana Qazaqstan Team0:43

Ranking General

1 Luke PlappTeam Jayco AlUla13:15:04
2 Santiago BuitragoBahrain – Victorious0:13
3 Brandon McNultyUAE Team Emirates0:27
4 João AlmeidaUAE Team Emirates0:29
5 Remco EvenepoelSoudal – Quick Step0:30
6 Egan BernalINEOS Grenadiers0:40
7 Chris HarperTeam Jayco AlUla0:46
8 Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike0:52
9 Rigoberto UránEF Education – EasyPost0:54

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico