The young local Sergio Chumil (Hino-One-Suzuki) closed today like a consecrated man to triumph in the fourth stage of the 62nd Cycling Tour of Guatemala, over difficult 196 kilometers.

The 23-year-old rider, with an electrifying sprint, finished off the Ecuadorian veteran Bayron Guamá (Movistar Best PC) and the Canadian Jean Lachane (Rio Grande) at the finish line in the Coatepeque municipality, Quetzaltenango department.

The same time (4:41:09) was followed by a platoon of 29 runners, including the holder of the individual general classification, Nixon Rosero, in ninth place, and the sub-leader Stalin Fuentestar, in 18th place, both from the Ecuadorian team. .

The Guatemalan champion of the last two editions and large pre-competition favorite Mardoqueo Vásquez (Hino-One-Suzuki) placed 13th.

Eight escapees cheered on the start of the competition from just after the start in Antigua Guatemala, department of Sacatepéquez, among them chapines Henry Sam (Decorabaños), Cristopher Díaz (PPP Development Team) and Brayan Ríos (As Quetzaltenango).

The latter managed to take the first flying goal, but in the second the Costa Rican Sebastián Brenes (Seven Card Economy Lacoinex) scored in the lead and in the next the Chilean Pablo Alarcón (Canel’s Pro Ciclyng).

Rosero kept the yellow leader’s jersey, while Fuentestar appears nine seconds behind and Guamá is third, now somewhat closer at 47.

They are escorted at one minute and 11 seconds by hosts Edgar Torres (Hino-One-Suzuki) and Gerson Toc (Decorabaños).

Tuesday’s route (fifth of the tour) offers 91.5 kilometers through the department of San Marcos, with several mountainous challenges, of the second and third category.

The largest Guatemalan sports festival includes 10 days of battle over 1,452 kilometers in total, with 60 intermediate prizes, 30 mountain prizes and the same number of flying goals.

The organizers will recognize the individual overall leader, best Guatemalan, winner of flying goals, mountain prizes, regularity, sub-23 starter and the stage winner.

Colombia has the highest number of victories (25) in the individual general classification, followed by the host Guatemala (20).

Since the inauguration of the Vuelta in 1957 among the nations, in addition, Costa Rica has filed six, Spain five, Mexico three, as well as Venezuela and Cuba one each.

Source: Agencia Prensa Latina