The mountainous 2023 edition of the Miguel Induraín Grand Prix was defined in the last 6000 meters, with the attack and triumph of Ion Izagirre, who narrowly surpassed the Colombian Sergio Higuita, who achieved his third podium of the season.

The 32nd edition of the Miguel Induraín Grand Prix, a one-day Spanish race that is part of the UCI ProSeries calendar, took place on Saturday, over a 204-kilometre route that began and ended in the town of Estella. The undulating course, apart from having three second-category climbs and one more first-class, had more than a dozen climbs, including a couple of 10 kilometers before the finish line.

After the initial 25 kilometers, the first break of the day ended, which had a total of four brave men: Matyas Copecky, Xavi Cañellas, Alexandro Fancellu and Mikel Bizkarra. The top quartet went to the front and managed to take, at its best, up to four and a half minutes of rent.

After completing the first half of the course, the peloton began to pick up the pace and chased, gradually reducing the deficit with the front four, until they broke down the breakaway with 50 kilometers to go.

The batch, managed by EF Education EasyPost and UAE Team Emirates, had a good rhythm and that caused attempts at a new escape to fail, until, on the way to the Alto de Eraul pass (2nd category) and with 12 kilometers to go, Ion Izagirre jumped and managed to take several meters ahead.

The Spaniard’s adventure was first accompanied by Marc Soler, but then it was the former Colombian national champion, Sergio Higuita, who accompanied the youngest of the Izagirres; the two overcame the port and the first of two slopes on the way to the finish line. The Iberian took advantage of the climb to the Ibarra level (6 km at the end) and left the Colombian behind.

A handful of seconds was enough for Izagirre to prevail, while Higuita was second, just two seconds behind the winner, while the podium of the race was completed by Mattias Skjelmose.

Starting this Monday, Higuita will be part of the Vuelta al País Vasco peloton, a one-week race in the WorldTour category. After what was shown at the Miguel Induráin Grand Prix, it is expected that he will be one of the riders who will fight for victory in this competition, whose current champion is Daniel Felipe Martínez.

final classification

1. Ion Izagirre (Cofidis) – 5h:09m:05s

2. Sergio Higuita (BORA – hansgrohe) at 2s

3. Mattias Skjelmose (Trek – Segafredo) at 13s