The fifth stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné will have no winner in the books. The 167-kilometer day, which started in Amplepuis and reached Saint Priest, had to be neutralized after a massive crash. Colombians Santiago Umba (Astana Qazaqstan Team) and Ivan Ramiro Sosa (Movistar Team) were involved.

With 20 kilometers to go, a large group of about fifty riders went to the ground due to the wetness of the road. All ambulances were needed to attend to the fallen riders. Steven Kruijswijk (Team Visma | Lease a Bike) and Dylan van Baarle (Team Visma | Lease a Bike) were the most affected and later taken to the hospital.

“The stage was neutralized due to lack of medical assistance. No times will be taken, and there will be no stage winner,” said the French race organizers.

The day’s breakaway was led by Frenchman Mathias Le Berre (Team Arkea B&B Hotels), Austrian Tobias Bayer (Team Alpecin Deceuninck) and Norwegian Adne Holter (Team Uno X Mobility).

Tomorrow Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) will start in the leader’s jersey with a 33-second lead over Slovenian Primož Roglič (BORA – Hansgrohe) and 1:04 over American Matteo Jorgenson (Team Visma | Lease a Bike). While Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) will start 14th and Harold Tejada (Astana Qazaqstan Team) will close the top 15.

The 76th edition of the French race will continue this Friday with the sixth stage, a 174-kilometer mountainous stage starting in Hauterives and finishing in Le Collet d’Allevard with a summit finish. The successor of Danish Jonas Vingegaard, last year’s champion, will be known on Sunday in Plateau des Glières (France).

Ranking General

1Remco EvenepoelSoudal Quick-Step12:27:22
2Primož RoglicBORA – hansgrohe0:33
3Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike1:04
4Derek GeeIsrael – Premier Tech1:11
5Oier LazkanoMovistar Team1:21
6Bruno ArmirailDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team1:25
7Neilson PowlessEF Education – EasyPost,,
8Juan AyusoUAE Team Emirates1:27
9Tao Geoghegan HartLidl – Trek1:39
10Carlos RodríguezINEOS Grenadiers1:41

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico