With the favorites surprised, Dubán Bobadilla (Team Herrera Sport) took advantage and prevailed in the fourth stage of the Clásico RCN Andina disputed between Pereira and Alto de Letras over 84.4 kilometers and which also left a new leader also in the individual general classification: Wilson Peña (Colombia Land of Athletes GW Shimano)

Bobadilla achieved his first victory in this edition of the Duel of the Titans, with brilliant action with six kilometers left in the out-of-category climb. On his side, Wilson took the lead with his second seat in this segment, after releasing his direct rival Fabio Duarte ((Team Medellín EPM) at the end of the fraction.

The day started with multiple attacks in the early stages of the race. With a strategic move, Team Medellín EPM launched two of its runners: Robigzon Oyola and Bernardo Suaza. Oscar Quiroz (Colombia Land of Athletes GW Shimano) and Daniel David Hoyos (Sistecrédito GW) also joined his wheel.

On the descent to Chinchina with a peloton at cruising pace, a large escape was formed with Edgar Pinzón (Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Shimano), Brayan Ramírez (EBSA), Daniel David Hoyos (Sistecrédito GW), Óscar Fernández (Boyacá Avanza), Juan José Amador (Manizales Mayor’s Office Superdrafts), Wilson Rodríguez (EBSA), Marco Tulio Suesca (Orgullo Paisa), Adrián Bustamante (EPM-Scott), Robingson Oyola and Bernardo Suaza (Team Medellín).

On the journey to Alto de Letras, the breakaway maintained an advantage of less than two minutes with the big batch. Going down the first ramps to the out-of-category prize, the escape was controlled. However, Fabio Duarte again broke the calm and attacked, ending the peace in the leading lot with multiple attacks between the favorites, in which Dubán Bobadilla (Team Herrera Sport) would be the strongest to take the victory alone.

The new leader of the contest, the Zipaquirean cyclist Wilson Peña told the press after the award. “Very happy, very happy for this new leadership, for all the team’s performance during what has been these first days of the race. Very motivated to continue giving the best of us. We have been growing, improving in recent months ”.

Likewise, the cundinamarqués rider praised the work of his coaches and the great work of his colleagues who have been standing out and leading several classifications. “Our directors have guided us, they have given us the best strategies and well this is the result, we have the U-23 leadership, the leadership of the flying goals with Oscar and the leadership of the race,” added the runner from Colombia Tierra de Athletes GW Shimano

Peña, will have to face another high final on Wednesday, which promises another battle between the roosters of the general classification, in which he hopes to have a good performance and continue to be the protagonist of the ‘Duel of the Titans‘. “There is still a lot of mountain, there is a lot of Classic ahead, but we are focused and very motivated to continue giving our best,” concluded the Zipaquirá rider.

This Wednesday, October 27, the fifth stage of the 60th edition of the Duelo de Titanes will be held, which will take Honda riders to Murillo over 104.1 kilometers, with another high finish.

Clásico RCN Andina 2021

Resultados 4 Etapa Pereira – Alto de Letras (120,6 km)

1         Dubán Bobadilla     Team Herrera Sport          2:50:24″

2         Wilson Peña Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Shimano       0:06

3         Fabio Duarte           Team Medellín EPM         0:15

4         George Tibaquirá   EBSA  0:27

5         Darwin Atapuma   Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Shimano       0:59

6         Juan Pablo Suárez EPM-Scott    »

7         Cristian Cubides     Team Herrera Sport          »

8         Robinson López      Sundark        »

9         Óscar Sevilla            Team Medellín EPM         »

10       Róbinson Chalapud           Team Medellín EPM         »

Clasificación General Clásico RCN Andina 2021

1         Wilson Peña            Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Shimano       10:17:33″

2         Fabio Duarte           Team Medellín EPM         0:11

3         Óscar Sevilla            Team Medellín EPM         0:33

4         Aldemar Reyes       EPM-Scott    0:55

5         Darwin Atapuma   Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW Shimano       1:34

6         Fredy Montaña      EPM-Scott    1:59

7         Juan Pablo Suárez EPM-Scott    2:14

8         Robinson Chalapud           Orgullo Paisa           2:46

9         Cristian Cubides     Team Herrera Sport          2:53 10       Dubán Bobadilla     Team Herrera Sport