The third stage of the 76th edition of the Critérium du Dauphiné was won by surprise by Derek Gee. In an unexpected finish, the Israel – Premier Tech rider managed to surprise the favorites and then proved to be the fastest after 181.7 kilometers between Celles-sur-Durolle and Les Estables.

The Canadian rider took the victory ahead of Frenchman Romain Grégoire (Groupama – FDJ) and Briton Lukas Nerurkar (EF Education – EasyPost), snatching the leader’s jersey from Denmark’s Magnus Cort (Uno-X Mobility).

The day’s breakaway was led by three brave riders: Australian Harry Sweeny (EF Education – EasyPost) and Frenchmen Nicolas Prodhomme (Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team) and Rémy Rochas (Groupama – FDJ). Later they were joined by the Danish Christopher Juul-Jensen (Team Jayco AlUla), however, in the final stretch all were neutralized by the peloton.

As for the Colombians, three arrived with the main group. Harold Tejada (Astana Qazaqstan Team) was in the top 5, Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) was 6th, and Ivan Ramiro Sosa (Movistar) was 38th, while Santiago Umba (Astana Qazaqstan Team) was 53rd, 16 seconds behind the winner.

The French round will continue on Wednesday, June 5, with the fourth stage, a 34.4-kilometer individual time trial between Saint-Germain-Laval and Neulise. The successor to Danish Jonas Vingegaard, last year’s champion, will be announced on Sunday in Plateau des Glières (France).

Critérium du Dauphiné (2.UWT)
Results Stage 3 | Celles-sur-Durolle – Les Estables (181,7 km)

1Derek GeeIsrael – Premier Tech4:22:18
2Romain GrégoireGroupama – FDJ,,
3Lukas NerurkarEF Education – EasyPost0:03
4Giulio CicconeLidl – Trek,,
5Harold TejadaAstana Qazaqstan Team,,
6Santiago BuitragoBahrain – Victorious,,
7Aleksandr VlasovBORA – hansgrohe,,
8Clément ChampoussinArkéa – B&B Hotels,,
9Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike,,
10Primož RoglicBORA – hansgrohe,,

Ranking General

1Derek GeeIsrael – Premier Tech11:45:20
2Magnus CortUno-X Mobility0:03
3Romain GrégoireGroupama – FDJ0:04
4Primož RoglicBORA – hansgrohe0:07
5Matteo JorgensonTeam Visma | Lease a Bike0:09
6Lukas NerurkarEF Education – EasyPost,,
7Bruno ArmirailDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team0:11
8Clément ChampoussinArkéa – B&B Hotels0:13
9Giulio CicconeLidl – Trek,,
10Carlos RodríguezINEOS Grenadiers,,

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico