In a vibrant and emotional finale, Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) won stage 20 of the 2023 Tour de France, the penultimate of this event, disputed over 133.5 kilometers between Belfort and Le Markstein, and in which he entered by ahead of Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) and the Austrian Felix Gall (AG2R Citroën Team).

The best Colombian of the day was Harold Tejada (Astana Qazaqstan Team) in the 34th place, more than 9 minutes from the winner. Rigoberto Urán (EF Education-EasyPost) finished in 50th place and Egan Bernal (Ineos Greniers) finished 51st.

The day’s break was led by the Colombian Rigoberto Urán (EF Education-EasyPost), who was accompanied by Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ), Giulio Ciccone (Lidl – Trek), Mattias Skjelmose (Lidl – Trek), Valentin Madouas (Groupama – FDJ ), Kevin Vermaerke (Team DSM – Firmenich), Chris Harper (Team Jayco AlUla), Thomas Pidcock (INEOS Grenadiers), Maxim van Gils (Lotto Dstny) and Warren Barguil (Team Arkéa Samsic).

In the first ascents of the mountainous day Giulio Ciccone (Lidl – Trek) stole the show, the Italian added the necessary points to be crowned champion of the red nuggets jersey.

At the end, going up the Col du Platzerwasel (7.1 km at 8.4%), the Frenchman Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) encouraged the race, while in the duel between the ‘Gallos de la General’ Tadej Pogacar tried it , but Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) stuck to his wheel.

After the Slovenian’s attack, a trio formed at the front with Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) and Felix Gall (AG2R Citroën Team). Then the British Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) and Simon Yates (Team Jayco AlUla) joined.

This Sunday the 110th edition of the Tour de France will end with the traditional triumphal ride to the Champs-Élysées, between Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines and Paris. The final section will be 115.1 kilometers long.

Source: Revista Mundo ciclístico