The dominance of the Swiss World Tour team Roland continues at the Tour El Salvador 2024. The Russian Tamara Dronova was victorious in the third stage of the Salvadoran round disputed over 102 kilometers, starting in Ilopango and finishing in San Luis Talpa.

A group of eight breakaways controlled the race in the final stretch, leaving everything to a reduced packing, in which Dronova was the fastest ahead of Colombian Andrea Alzate (Eneicat CM Team) and Chilean Aranza Villalón (Soltec Iberoamérica), who finished second and third, respectively.

The Swiss said that at the beginning of the stage the road was tricky but then the road started to get good. “I’m fine, maybe not really fine (with a chuckle). At the beginning at the airport the road is not very good, but then it started to get good and very big and very very good passages.”

About the Salvadoran weather, she said that it was very hot but she has been in El Salvador for several days and it has helped her to be able to withstand the temperatures. Besides that she confirmed that for next year she has desires to come.

“It was very hot, but I have been in El Salvador 18 days before and it helps me. Probably for next year I will come to race here I will enjoy I have enjoyed meeting in people who are very friendly and thank you all for that.”

As for the general classification, the first three positions went to the Swiss Roland team with Swiss rider Elena Hartmann in the lead followed by Russian Tamara Dronova and Cypriot Antri Christoforou.

The Central American competition will live its final day in Santa Ana this Tuesday, with a 99-kilometer circuit on undulating terrain, which includes three special sprint.

Tour El Salvador (2.1)
Results Stage 3 | Ilopango – San Luis Talpa (102 km)

1Tamara DronovaRoland2:32:42
2Andrea Alzate *ColombiaEneicat – CM Team,,
3Aranza VillalónSoltec Iberoamérica,,
4Andrea RamírezBoneshaker Project presented by ROXO,,
5Marcela PrietoPato Bike BMC Team,,
6Antri ChristoforouRoland,,
7Ángela OroBepink – Bongioanni0:03
8Kira PayerBoneshaker Project presented by ROXO0:05
9Daniela CamposEneicat – CM Team0:32
10Sylvie SwinkelsRoland,,

Ranking General

1Elena HartmannRoland7:09:41
2Tamara DronovaRoland0:38
3Antri ChristoforouRoland0:47
4Marcela PrietoPato Bike BMC Team0:51
5Aranza VillalónSoltec Iberoamérica0:52

Source: La Prensa Gráfica y Revista Mundo Ciclístico