The fifth edition of the International Women’s Tour of Uruguay, which ended on January 23, had as its main news the victory of the Argentine Dolores Rodríguez Rey, of the Ciudad del Plata cycling club.

The competition began in Cardona, on Thursday, January 20, with a 1,300-meter time trial that was won by Mariana García Britos, a Uruguayan from Ciudad del Plata. The next day the peloton pedaled in a stage of 81 kilometers along route 12. The winner of the stage was also from Ciudad del Plata, the Uruguayan Fabiana Granizal.

On Saturday the route joined the towns of Cardona and Mercedes, in almost 97 kilometers of extension for that stage. The winner was Dolores Rodríguez Rey, a solo escape. Rosina Bertolini, a Uruguayan who rode for Damico Women Cycling in Argentina, was second. In third position in that stage finished Federica Frontini, also Uruguayan, from Club La Armonía de Fray Bentos.

The order in which the breakaways arrived in the longest stage of the competition was decisive in configuring the final podium, since on Sunday the same three cyclists managed to maintain their positions and climbed to the podium of the general classification.

The last day was a double shift. First a six-kilometre time trial, in which Dolores Rodríguez won, and then the 60-kilometer peloton test, which Fabiana Granizal dominated.

Finally, Dolores Rodríguez Rey, from the Ciudad del Plata Cycling Club, finished in first place in the individual general classification, along with Rosina Bertolini and Federica Frontini, second and third respectively.

In addition to the title in the individual general classification, for Rodríguez Rey, Ciudad del Plata won the team competition.

Rosina Bertolini won the award for the best Uruguayan cyclist, while the revelation was Luciana Wynants, daughter of the Olympic medalist from Sanducero Milton Wynants. In the under 23 classification, the winner was Paola Silva, from La Armonía.

The Sprinter award went to Johanna Bracco from Peñarol de Durazno, the top went to the Chilean Karla Vallejos, from Ruteros, and Ana Seijas, who ran for the Montevideo federation, stayed with the regularity.

Stage 1. Time trial of 1300 meters in the City of Cardona.

Thursday, January 20.

1. Mariana García Britos from Ciudad del Plata.

2. Karla Vallejos from Team Rutero de Chile.

3. Savka Hernandez Team Ruteros from Chile.

Cardona/Cardona 81 kilometers en route.

Friday January 21.

1. Fabiana Granizal from Ciudad del Plata Cycling Club.

2. Ana Seijas Cycling Federation of Montevideo.

3. Mariana Garcia Britos. Ciudad del Plata Cycling Club.

Cardona to Mercedes. 97 km.

Saturday January 22.

1. Dolores Rodriguez Cycling Club Ciudad del Plata.

2. Federica Frontini Harmony Club of Fray Bentos.

3. Rosina Bertolini of D’Amico Women from Argentina

Individual Time Trial 6 kms. Section A

Sunday January 23.

1. Dolores Rodriguez-Rey

2. Fabiana Granizal

3. Ana Seijas

Section B

1. Fabiana Granizal

2. Ana Seijas

3. Micaela Gutiérrez Sub 23 (Arg) Cycling Federation of Montevideo.