On Saturday, December 16, the 57th edition of the Vuelta Costa Rica Telecable 2023 will begin, the highest event in Costa Rican cycling for which teams from six countries have confirmed and which will have 10 stages, a total of 1,170 kilometers and will pass through six provinces of the national territory.

As a striking aspect, in a statement to the press, the Costa Rican Cycling Federation (FECOCI) highlighted that this year the return will have a team time trial (CRE) for the third stage, in Guanacaste, and also, a stage with start and finish at the National Stadium.

In addition, the event will have 16 flying goals distributed over the 10 days of competition, as well as 15 mountain prizes.

The activity will feature the participation of seven national teams (the five best in the national ranking), two invited teams and six international teams from: Ecuador, Guatemala, Colombia, Holland and Mexico.

In order of location in the ranking, the Ticos teams are: 7C Economy Lacoinex, Colono Bikestation Kölbi, Team Costa Frut Go Rigo Giant, Distribuidora Cruz Teconoforest Trama and CMS – Prefabricados San Carlos.

While the international teams that will be present are the national teams of Colombia and Guatemala; Movistar-Ecuador and Banco Guayaquil-Ecuador; Canel’s- Mexico; and Global Cycling-Holland.

The president of FECOCI, Óscar Ávila, commented: “After almost a year of work we announce the 57th edition of the Vuelta, we have great news for this year, we will also have great foreign and national participation, we expect a very high caliber event for May an entire country enjoy this great event that is coming.”

The dedication of the competition will be the national director of the Costa Rican Institute of Sports and Recreation (ICODER), Donald Rojas Fernández, who assumed this position on August 29, 2022 and throughout his life has actively participated in Costa Rican sports in different disciplines, FECOCI highlighted. The manager is 50 years old and will be in charge of ICODER until 2026.

The stages of the Vuelta are as follows:

– Saturday, December 16: Stage 1: Heredia – Cañas (151.52 kilometers).

– Sunday, December 17: Stage 2: Cañas – Liberia (160.6 kilometers).

– Monday, December 18: Stage 3: Bagaces – Curubandé (CRE 41.27 kilometers).

– Tuesday, December 19: Stage 4: Liberia – Naranjo (172.29 kilometers).

– Wednesday, December 20: Stage 5: San Ramón – San Ramón (Berlin) (99.87 kilometers).

– Thursday, December 21: Stage 6: National Stadium – National Stadium (11.07 kilometers).

– Friday, December 22: Stage 7: San José – Pérez Zeledón (126.67 kilometers).

– Saturday, December 23: Stage 8: Pérez Zeledón – Oreamuno (117.26 kilometers).

– Sunday, December 24: Stage 9: Paradise – Paradise (90.95 kilometers).

– Monday, December 25: Stage 10: Parque La Aurora – Parque La Aurora: (99 kilometers).