As an ideal prelude to the 39th Tour of San Juan, Argentina, the XXI Giro del Sol will be held from January 6 in the same gaucho province, which will have three stages and 21 teams, while it will open the UCI America Tour calendar , with its category 2.1 and with international participation.

The route of the tour will have three days (January 6 to 8) that are clearly flat and will have as an additional incentive that two teams will be able to win their places for the Vuelta a San Juan, which has a higher category in terms of the evaluation of the races of ICU route.

According to various local sources, the race organized by the Fundación para el Progreso-Peña Bicitour will deliver these two passes among seven aspiring sexts: the teams from Chile, Uruguay, Venezuela and Mexico, and also the Wift Carbon Pro Cycling teams from Brazil, Pío Rico Bolivia and San Luis Continental, all with the endorsement of the UCI.

The rest of the teams that will be in the XXI Giro del Sol are already in the Vuelta a San Juan. They are the six continental ones from San Juan: Municipality of Pocito, Agrupación Virgen de Fátima, Gremios por el Deporte, Chimbas Te Quiero, Municipality of Rawson and SEP.

The others that will only compete for the Giro del Sol podium are Fundación Emanuel Saldaño-Team Jácamo, Diberboll Deporte y Salud, Maní Zabala, Linares Team CN, Centro Ciclista Bonaerense, Giomi Competición, Ciclismo Tupungato and Team Salta La Linda.

More details of the event will be known this Thursday, January 5, when the press conference is held with the accredited media to cover this race.

Tour of the Giro del Sol

First stage (Friday, January 6)

Start: Plaza 25 de Mayo / Capital

Distance: 158km

Stage 2 (Saturday, January 7)

Start and finish: San Juan Villicum Circuit (visit to the Punta Negra and Ullum dams)

Distance: 134.3km

Stage 3 (Sunday, January 8)

Start and finish: San Juan Villicum Circuit (visit to the couple of the Deceased Correa)

Distance: 179.9km