The current world champion, Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep), completed this Saturday the triplet of victories in the Clásica de San Sebastián after beating the local Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious) in a close sprint, while Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) finished third.

The Belgian closed his journey with the rainbow in this way, after winning the Klasikoa just one week after he defended his title at the Glasgow World Championship. With his victory, Remco equaled Marino Lejarreta as the cyclist with the most San Sebastián Classics in history.

The Belgian was faithful to his style and 73 kilometers from the finish line he opened fire on the climb to Erlaitz, the toughest climb on the track, to gain ground with his rivals for the champion’s jersey. The movement selected the group that was going to play the victory along with Pello Bilbao, Alberto Bettiol and Aleksandr Vlasov.

The joint work of the quartet demonstrated from its formation that they would fight for victory among themselves with Bardet and Van Hooydonck resisting their wheel from the first break. The second de rigueur climb of the day in Mendizorrotz saw Remco launch another missile that only Bilbao and Vlasov could fit, holding the rainbow wheel.

With the finish line approaching on the horizon, Pello Bilbao plucked up his courage and tried to counterattack the Belgian prodigy on the second pass through Murgil, provoking Remco’s response but letting go of the Russian who couldn’t keep up.

Encouraged by his fans, Bilbao attempted the feat but the former left back for Anderlecht, PSV Eindhoven and the Belgian Under 16 team did not give rise to surprises and took his third victory in the Klasikoa after the 2019 and 2022 titles .

Classic Classification of San Sebastian 2023

1.- Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep) 5h30’59”

2.- Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious) m.t.

3.- Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) +28”

4.- Neilson Powless (EF Education-EasyPost) +02’50”

5.- Ion Izagirre (Cofidis) +02’57”

6.- Toms Skujins (Lidl-Trek) +03’02”

7.- Ales Aranburu (Movistar Team) m.t.

8.- Rui Costa (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) m.t.

9.- Andrea Bagioli (Soudal-QuickStep) m.t.

10.- Tiesj Benoot (Jumbo-Visma) m.t.

Source: y Revista Mundo Ciclistico