The organization of the fourth edition of the Tour Colombia 2.1 continues to finalize the details for the return of the most important race in America to the international calendar of the International Cycling Union (UCI) for the 2024 season, which will take place from 6 to 11 February, and in which the participation of 156 cyclists representing 26 teams is expected.

The international group that will travel the roads of Boyacá and Cundinamarca will be made up of three WorldTeam squads, two ProTeams, 19 Continentals and two national teams, which have accepted the invitation of the Colombian Cycling Federation to compete in our country.

Astana Qazaqstan Team, EF Education – Easypost and Movistar Team will be present with six riders, in rosters that will be confirmed in the month of January, but in which the participation of riders such as the British Mark Cavendish (Astana) and the Colombians Harold Tejada (Astana) and Nairo Quintana (Movistar).

From the Proteam category, the European teams Bingoal WB from Belgium and Corratec from Italy have agreed to participate in the race, who will debut in the competition, which will begin on Tuesday, February 6 in the Boyacá municipality of Paipa.

In the continental category, three European teams have confirmed their participation so far: Beycoz Continental Team from Turkey; Universe Cycling Team from the Netherlands, and Sabgal Anicolor from Portugal; six squads from America: Team Banco Guayaquil from Ecuador; Canel’s Pro Cycling and Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocatolli from Mexico; Swift Carbon Pro Cycling from Brazil; SEP San Juan from Argentina and Panama is Cultura, and an Asian team: Nusuntara Cycling Team from Indonesia.

In the coming days, two European continental teams and one from Oceania are expected to confirm their attendance at the race, which will celebrate its fourth edition in 2024.

For their part, the Colombian continental teams that will be in competition will be: Team Medellín EPM, Colombia Potencia de la Vida Strongman, Nu Colombia, GW Erco Shimano, Team Sistecrédito and Orgullo Paisa.

Finally, the peloton will be completed with the National Teams of Brazil and Colombia, for a total of 156 runners who will fight for the title of the race and to meet the successor of Sergio Higuita from Antioquia, champion of the 2020 edition.

It should be remembered that the 2018 and 2019 editions were won by Egan Bernal and Miguel Ángel López, respectively.

Fuente: Revista Mundo Ciclístico y